We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room 60 miles from Sturgis. Friendly, helpful...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    187
    118
    37
    18
See reviews for
250
161
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
longmont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We really enjoyed our visit here; we had a nice, clean room. The atmosphere was laid back and friendly. The pool and the hot tub were great, even though the pool was a little cool for the adults taste. Continental breakfast is basic; toasts, frozen waffles, oatmeal packets, and some biscuits with gravy (that seemed homemade).
The view is great, in a slightly edge of town setting. This motel is located close to many of the tourist attractions; bear country was about 20 minutes away as well as Mt. Rushmore. Great access to Custer state park and Needles Highway (cannot recommend that drive enough).
We would stay here again, the staff was friendly and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on your stay. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay at our hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at the Super 8 in Custer when we went on a family trip to visit Mount Rushmore and the surrounding attractions. The hotel met all of our basic needs, it was a quiet, family friendly, inexpensive place to sleep. When we interacted with the staff they were always friendly and helpful. It was also nice that the hotel offered a simple free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffyruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on your stay. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After 2000 miles from Florida, Super8 came to our rescue since we had a Boston terrier with us & other motels were full. Tanya & Karen took great care of us and even upgraded us after one night. The rooms were clean; breakfasts were adequate. We would stay here again solely for the great staff doing such a fine job with us out-of-owners!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. Customer Service is a top priority for the hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the staff treated you good. We are always happy to accept pets here. We hope you will stay with us again if you come back to Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

While the rooms and the breakfast are about what you would expect from a Super 8, the service proved to be much better than anticipated. The desk staff all seemed genuinely interested in ensuring a good visit. A special shout out goes to Tayna who located the clothes I left behind and offered to mail them home to me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Customer Service is one of our top goals. I am glad that you had recieved your package, it is another one of those things that we do to make our guests happy and want to stay with us again. I am happy to hear that the staff made your stay a good experience. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is an older property. Booking ahead of time online, the price is better ($108 after taxes for 2 queens in July), you can not cancel using this though. Breakfast was ok, small area for food and tables. pool was fine, chlorine smelled strong, I think just because it is a small room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay at Custer Super 8. We appreciate your feedback.
We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.3 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 17 in Custer
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.6 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#3 of 17 in Custer
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area

Property: Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Address: 535 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Custer / Crazy Horse Area Hotel Custer
Super Eight Custer
Custer Super 8
Custer Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing