We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to ......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to ......”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Super 8 is close to Mt. Rushmore, Crazu Horse memorial and Custer state park which is super. We visited Custer in the beginning of August - Together with aprox. 500.000 motorcycle riders (Sturgis Rally). That was in fact realy cool. Frendly people age 40+ like us. The motel is pricy compared to other m8's. The rooms is ok but dark and not cosy, but we had refrigarator etc. Ok.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Søren T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    166
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
215
146
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

When we checked in we were told that we would be on the second floor. I mentioned that when I booked online we needed a room on the first floor as my wife has trouble walking up stairs. They blamed the booking site I used, which was weird as every other hotel I booked using that site got the message and either got us a first floor room or didn't worry about it as they had an elevator. The front desk staff acted like there was nothing they could do and were unapologetic.

Our toilet ran constantly. I reported it, but it was never fixed. I could have fixed in a half hour with parts from the hardware store down the road. It was going off every 2 to 3 minutes. I don't see how the cleaning staff could not have noticed it. We had to shut the bathroom door when we slept because of the noise. It is also quite a waste of water. Also the A/C unit was noisy.

Overall, the room was OK, fairly clean with no marks on the walls or carpet stains. The bed was comfortable, but not the most comfortable I have slept in.

I gave them a second star as they did have the best continental breakfast of our whole trip. They also had a nice indoor pool and spa.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your stay. I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with your stay. I will use your feedback to better our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longmont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We really enjoyed our visit here; we had a nice, clean room. The atmosphere was laid back and friendly. The pool and the hot tub were great, even though the pool was a little cool for the adults taste. Continental breakfast is basic; toasts, frozen waffles, oatmeal packets, and some biscuits with gravy (that seemed homemade).
The view is great, in a slightly edge of town setting. This motel is located close to many of the tourist attractions; bear country was about 20 minutes away as well as Mt. Rushmore. Great access to Custer state park and Needles Highway (cannot recommend that drive enough).
We would stay here again, the staff was friendly and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on your stay. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay at our hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at the Super 8 in Custer when we went on a family trip to visit Mount Rushmore and the surrounding attractions. The hotel met all of our basic needs, it was a quiet, family friendly, inexpensive place to sleep. When we interacted with the staff they were always friendly and helpful. It was also nice that the hotel offered a simple free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffyruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on your stay. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After 2000 miles from Florida, Super8 came to our rescue since we had a Boston terrier with us & other motels were full. Tanya & Karen took great care of us and even upgraded us after one night. The rooms were clean; breakfasts were adequate. We would stay here again solely for the great staff doing such a fine job with us out-of-owners!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. Customer Service is a top priority for the hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the staff treated you good. We are always happy to accept pets here. We hope you will stay with us again if you come back to Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
3.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area

Property: Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Address: 535 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Custer / Crazy Horse Area Hotel Custer
Super Eight Custer
Custer Super 8
Custer Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing