We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Custer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chief Motel(Custer)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
275
182
40
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
182
40
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrazy horseroom was cleanblack hillscuster state parkqueen suitewould definitely stay here againvery nice hotelmake your own wafflesmount rushmorecontinental breakfastfront desk staffother hotelsjewel cavewind cavekids loved the poolgreat place to stayyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I stayed (unfortunatly) only 1 night In this Comfort Inn & Suites while on tour in the area.

This hotel is very well located close to Custer State park, Wind cave National Park, Mount Rushmore and the other Black Hills attractions.
Custer is a nice town, without too much traffic and crowds.

We had room 305, which turned out to be a queen bedroom with a door to an adjoining room. Nobody stayed next door, so we didn't have any problem with possible noice.

The room was big and clean, and had a comfortable bed, a flatscreen TV, a coffee maker and a sofa in the sitting area. The bathroom was also big and clean.

On the ground floor was an indoor pool which we didn't have time to use, and a free computer to check your emails.

There are several restaurants within walking or short driving distance in the neighbourhood. We dined at the Captain's Table right across the road, and we can really recommend their delicious food !

Also across the road is The Flintstones Bedrock City Theme Park and Campgrounds, which might be fun if you travel with small kids.

The complimentary breakfast in the hotel was nice and had enough items and the staff was friendly. We enjoyed our short stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelcrazyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We appreciate your review of your stay at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that guests enjoyed their stay while in the Black Hills area! I'm sorry you only had one night to stay! Please come stay with us again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The town of Custer SD is located in the southern part of the Black Hills, near all the monuments and Custer State Park. There is plenty to do, but without the crowds. The hotel was relatively new, very clean with comfortable rooms. The indoor pool / spa was an added bonus for the family. The staff was very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We are so thankful that you took the time to review our hotel and your stay. Thank you for staying with us and please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were here to see the sights and this hotel has a good location for many of the area's attractions. We received two very nice gift bags since we are Choice Diamond members. The room and bathroom were very nice but didn't have a fridge or microwave. We thought the bed and pillows were uncomfortable; the bedspread kept sliding off the bed while we were sleeping. The staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are upgrading all of our rooms this winter to include a microwave and fridge. We are also getting a new bedding package. With all of our upgrades I'm sure you'll be extremely satisfied with your next stay! Thank you again and we can't wait to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Custer at this Comfort Inn. The hotel was very clean. Our hotel room was comfortable and the entire place seemed well managed. We had a room on the first floor facing the front parking area. It was quiet and far enough off the main road that traffic was not a problem. The breakfast was typical for this type of hotel and it was presented well. It was a good spot to visit both Mt. Rushmore and Custer Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rscoapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn and Suites for your hospitality needs while visiting the Custer area. We appreciate your time in reviewing our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This property deserves a much higher ranking than #4 of 19 hotels in Custer. Breakfast was good, room quiet and comfortable, the rate reasonable and the front desk staff very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again if we ever return to the Custer area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samrose9121964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

We hope to be #1 to all of our guests! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for choosing to stay with us! We strive to WOW our guests each and every time we can. Please come and stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews