We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We just spent two days in Custer, SD to attend the Volksmarch at Crazy Horse. Comfort Inn was so very nice. The front desk staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast food hot and well stocked and the dining area kept very clean by staff constantly checking food containers (both hot and cold) and cleaning during the breakfast hour. Our room was amazing--clean, bright, spacious. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thanks for choosing Comfort Inn and Suites in Custer for your hospitality needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had a good three-night experience at this hotel. Very quiet room with good refrigerator and microwave. Good shower and towels, though a lot of water is wasted waiting for the hot water to come through. Ironic that they are trying to be environmentally conscious. Breakfast area had many good choices. Theme park across the street didn't come into play since it was before Memorial Day weekend. Good proximity to Custer State Park, a gem to visit for wildlife photography and some hiking. Connects with Wind Cave National Park.

Room Tip: Request the third floor in the back to avoid the theme park across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review. We love to hear our guests great adventures in our area! Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn and Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

For the season is this area, it was a good room for the price. The room was plain but clean and quiet, everything worked and the beds were good. Again, a mildewed shower curtain made an otherwise clean bathroom smell funky. I wish that hotels would learn that most of us would rather have the maids take a few extra minutes to spray the shower curtain with Clorox or something than putting that time toward making cute elephants or ducks out of the washcloths.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We deeply apologize about the issue you encountered. We always share your comments with our team. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We are retired and travel frequently for both business & pleasure. This was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed at. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. The beds & bedding were top quality. The staff at all levels was friendly & helpful. Breakfast provided included hot choices and protein , and the meat & eggs varied each day of our 3 day stay. Stop and stay here when you're in the Black Hills area, it is close to all the attractions & mini golf and amusement park.

Room Tip: We had an end room near the stairs and parking lot which was convenient for entering & exiting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moe102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Our staff takes great pride in our customer service and cleanliness. Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. We hope to see you again on your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here as a base for Custer, Mt. Rushmore, Keystone, Hill City. 5 stars all the way. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, decent price. Great free breakfast.

Reagan at the front desk was awesome. Friendly, knew the local hot spots to eat, super personality, My guess is that one day she will be a hotel manager. If the manager reads this......do all you can for her, she is an asset to your business.

The only minor negative.....the wall A/C unit is your typical wall unit... a little louder than I would prefer, but not a deal breaker. GREAT PLACE!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Awesome! Thank you so much for you compliments of our staff. We value our guests and staff so much! Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while doing some hiking and sight seeing in the Custer area. Staff was friendly and courteous and our room was spotless. Beds were comfy and the floor we were on (3rd) was very quiet. Especially nice was the ice cold water found in the lobby. Every day a new, fresh flavor was featured. We appreciated this after returning from a long, hot hike! Breakfast included the usual hotel fare (hot waffles, rolls, cereals, yogurts, fruit, some type of cooked eggs and meat). Our only complaint would be that the cooked eggs tasted horrible the first two days of our stay. They were clearly instant which we are used to while staying in hotels, but the taste was off. Perhaps they didn't follow the recipe correctly. The last day the egg and cheese combo was much better. The alternative to the cooked eggs were the nicely boiled eggs found in the fridge so we made do with those. Otherwise this was an excellent hotel and we would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is an elevator so ask for the 3rd floor if you want to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! We appreciate your comments and we have made some adjustments to our menu for breakfast. Thank you for helping us make our guests stay better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

stayed six nights end of may 2014. great service, clean rooms, good breakfast. highly recommend. would stay again. breakfast was kept stocked up until nine o'clock am. we saved a lot of money eating there every morning.

Room Tip: we were upgraded to a third floor suite which was quiet. elevator came in handy for long stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace A, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Custer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. We are so glad you had a great time! Thank you for creating your memories with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
130 reviews
12.7 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
12 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Custer

Address: 339 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1541
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#5 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: £66 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Custer hotel near Mount Rushmore National Memorial. The Custer area hotel is conveniently located minutes from Mount Rushmore National Memorial, the Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave National Monument and Wind Cave National Park. Custer County Airport is three miles and Rapid City Regional Airport is 50 miles from the hotel. Comfort Inn & Suites offers a 24 hour fitness center, business center, and guest laundry, adult only swim time and an ATM. Offering large family suites, fast WIFI, amazing customer service, and local knowledge of the area. Take time to experience Custer's unique shops and explore the historic downtown district. Enjoy a meal in one of the area's fine restaurants. Stop by the front desk for many discounted tickets to local attractions and shows, always offering the best value for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Custer
Comfort Inn Custer
Custer Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing