We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”
Review of State Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
State Game Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We loved staying here and plan to return in the summer when more attractions are open. Traveling mid-October most everything was closed but we did find some fun things to do and enjoyed the relaxation and not running from attraction to attraction. Custer was nice but keystone was a complete ghost town.
We stayed in a three room housekeeping cabin. Loved having our own kitchen to eat at home. We brought a grill and griddle with us which was a good choice. I recommend bringing a baking sheet and cake pan if you will need one. The kitchen was just big enough to make a decent dinner.
The rooms were a decent size and we slept well. We were tired from all our daily adventures. It was a little drive to get anywhere but we didnt mind because the scenery was gorgeous and we loved the quietness of the resort and room for the kids to run and play.
The bathroom was decent. We just ran out of hot water quickly. The heat is very dry there so we boiled water at night to add moisture to the air.
Bring camping chairs with you to sit outside around the fire pit. You can pick up down branches for your fire so you don't have to purchase firewood.
It was very fun to wake up every morning and look for the buffalo.
The bar staff was friendly.
We did leave a night early to get a head start on our drive (and because we did most everything at that point that wa open) and they canceled our last night with no issues. However we were going to have to switch cabins for the last night (the cabin we were in was previously booked and we knew this in advance) so I think that is the reason for them being so willing to accommodate.
Excited to go back during regular season and enjoy more of the black hills!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    150
    79
    33
    17
See reviews for
156
181
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Firstly we have to say the location is great and the buildings wonderful in general. The first impression given by the front desk staff (with one notable exception) was poor. OK we arrived a little before official check in but others were being allocated rooms. We were made to feel very uncomfortable about asking for our room and were told in no uncertain terms that it was not ready. Fair enough but this attitude continued over the next 2 hours and beyond the "guaranteed" check in time. One receptionist did try her best to speed up our room but was continually over-ruled by her colleague. We tried to get lunch whilst we were waiting but there were several coach parties in the restaurant which was absolutely filled to capacity. Fortunately a friendly guide told us we could get the same food in the bar which was empty - a good tip for others. We stayed in the Creekside Cabin which is over the road from the main hotel. The bedrooms are smaller than we imagined and the whole cabin is a bit too "old world" and could do with a makeover but was fine in general for a family without being exceptional. We ate breakfast and dinner in the dining room as there are few options nearby and the food was again fine without being anything to write home about.

Custer State Park itself is wonderful and this hotel could be so much better with a little effort from management.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had visited Custer State Park a few times (maybe one of best state parks period) and we wanted to be there during the annual buffalo roundup. I reserved a cabin several months in advance #7 as it turned out. Nice accomodations, very secluded yet within walking distance of main lodge and the art/craft festival area.

Room Tip: For isolation choose cabin #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We really wanted to stay there while visiting Custer State Park during the Buffalo Roundup. When we arrived, it had turned cool and rainy. Unfortunately the heat in our corner room did not work, nor did the TV, and we decided to leave and ask for our money back. At first they wanted to keep part of our money, but I said no. Jennifer was gracious and refunded our full advance payment.
I think this would be a nice place to stay under different circumstances.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulL227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmesville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Room was nice , large & clean , front desk service was mediocre , cleaning cart was left outside our door for evening , told front desk & it was still there when we returned from dinner, laundry area was dirty & unkept . Dinner was Great at the Lodge

Room Tip: Ask for a Creekside room , upstairs if you want a deck , down rooms have a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have dined at the Game Lodge twice now, and both times the food was excellent. Classy but not over the top. While we dined, the buffalo herd gathered on the lawn outside the lodge providing an exciting after dinner treat. I would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garyonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was a nice place to stay while visiting Custer State Park and the surrounding area attractions such as Mt. Rushmore, The Crazy Horse Monument and the Jewel Caves. We rented a cabin which is a short walk from the main Game Lodge, where there are hotel rooms to rent. Our cabin had two bedrooms, one bathroom and kitchen. The cabin has all of the utensils you would need for cooking. All you really need to bring is food. The cabin is air-conditioned but we were comfortable leaving the windows open at night. We ate one evening at the Game Lodge which has a nice menue with elk and bison on the fare. There is a full bar and two beatuiful fireplaces in the Lodge. Many of the fixtures in the Lodge Lobby are Tiffany pieces. The cabins are a short walk from the Coolidge General Store, where you can purchase just about anything from T-Shirts to beer and milk. There is nothing luxurous about the cabin. It was clean and pleasent to be there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
14.8 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 17 in Custer
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
188 reviews
8.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
42 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Game Lodge

Property: State Game Lodge
Address: 13389 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8351
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — State Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Custer State Park, this family accommodation once served as housing for the state's game keepers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
State Game Hotel Custer
State Game Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing