We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Cabin”
Review of Legion Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Legion Lake Resort
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed four nights in a 2 bedroom cabin. It was not very large, but we were rarely inside other than to sleep. Cabins were very clean and was in a good location. Would highly recommend. It is near very good hiking and wildlife scenery within the state park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank top27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in cabin 21 for 3 nights during our recent 10 day vacation throughout SW South Dakota. I was very happy with the "resort" location - the cabins were up the hill from the lodge, and were a bit removed from the main road. This was a big plus as motorcycle traffic increased during our stay in anticipation of rally week. The resort was also very convenient to other areas in the park, including the Wildlife Loop and Blue Bell Stables, as well as the town of Custer and a highway providing easy access to Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore. The cabins were on the rustic side, though they had a microwave, fridge, AC and TV. A few nights, we bought groceries at a market in Custer and grilled on the fire ring, which helped our travel budget. The beds were somewhat uncomfortable, and should probably be replaced as cabins are being updated. My biggest gripe was with the outdoor furniture. All the cabins had 4 person picnic tables (very weathered) near the fire rings, and most cabins had a few resin chairs about. These chairs were more comfortable for sitting by the fire, and it seems as though 2 per cabin would be reasonable. However, the chairs weren't marked by cabin number, and ours had a tendency to disappear during the day while we were sightseeing. I found this to be unnecessarily frustrating. Overall, a good stay in the Black Hills.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwalker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here with my husband for our anniversary since we couldn't get a cabin at Sylvan Lake. While, I understand this is camping, the cabins at this location are not worth the price. They are perfectly fine, just very "rustic". Again, it's camping so I am okay with the accommodations, just not for the price I paid for it! I'd expect something much more upscale.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have never posted any reviews of any accomodations in the past. Generally my attitude is to roll with it on vacations. Recently our family stayed at the Legion lake Lodge in a cabin after staying in several cabins in Yellowstone National Park. Legion Lake was the only one to disappoint our low expectations. The beds were old and not in good shape unless you like to sleep on top of each other in the middle of the bed. The toilet backed up or overflowed with every flush. I guess they are aware of this problem as it came equipped with an oft used plunger. Personally, even a cabin shouldn't require performing plumbing service and cleanup after every flush. We were not expecting a fine hotel, but the cabins were not very clean either. I would also agree with other posts from previous years that the staff was not overall very helpful, seems like a continuing trend. The setting is very nice and Custer park along with activies are good as well. The location and drives along with the town of Custer also make for a great visit, just do so while staying outside the park. Not worth the money for sure and I would not recommend or return. As Jen F said in an earlier post, live and learn.

Room Tip: Look into other options in the overall area. Many places to try with better rates that could provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

When traveling out West, we decided to stay overnight in Custer Park. We rented a little one-room cabin that was comfortable, well located and adequate. It contained a bed and a sleeper sofa. I recommend the cabin, but using this for two couples was a bit cozier than we like. Once the sleeper sofa is pulled, there is almost no walking space. For a family, yes.....for two couples........a bit cozy. Overall, we loved the night, enjoyed sitting outside, took several walks and were even met by a buffalo outside our cabin the next morning. A cute place in the seclusion of the park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgrmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in mid-August. Cabins are tight but beds were good. We were in one of the smaller type cabins, a little further away from the lake than the bigger ones. Worth bearing in mind if you have small kids, quite an uphill hike back to the cabin on foot. Bathroom was perfectly good in most aspects but, as other reviewers have pointed out, the water had an incredibly strong iron/metallic odor. Didn't drink it! Did brush teeth in it with no ill-effects. TV was ok, poor reception but we weren't in the cabins to watch tv. Location for the State Park is excellent, close to a number of different routes around the park. The Lodge itself was also perfectly adequate. Food was definitely not gourmet, more pub-type fare but what do you expect in a state park?! Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Did have a Starbucks which was a nice bonus. Not the cheapest way to stay in the park but for the location and what they provide, I believe it was worth it and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Housekeeping cabins are significantly closer to the lake than the basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here for four nights. The rooms, while on the small side, had everything you may need. Good shower, air conditioning, which we did not need, television, fridge, microwave. The bed was comfortable and a sofa in the cabin. It's not luxury and was slightly over priced. The location is magnificent. The cafe down the road was adequate.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank naomi_steinberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
3.5 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
10.5 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
1 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
3.7 mi away
Calamity Peak Lodge
Calamity Peak Lodge
#9 of 18 in Custer
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legion Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legion Lake Resort

Address: 12967 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8348
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Hotel Class:2 star — Legion Lake Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Custer State Park accommodation is located near Legion Lake and offers access to fishing and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Legion Lake Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing