We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Location and Cabins” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legion Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Legion Lake Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ideal Location and Cabins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

Date of Stay: July 3-7, 2008. We really were impressed with the beauty of the Black Hills and wish we could have stayed longer. We had two cabins for our family of 6, we did not have Kitchenettes in the cabin but enjoyed the fire pits and great restaurants. We also had flat screen TVS but the hot water was sometimes a problem for four showers.

We had cabins 21 & 22, which were at the end of the road so we surrounded by trees and wildlife. The staff was friendly and helpful and I would heartily recommend this resort. We also visited Blue Bell and Sylvan Lake which were different but also nice.

Unlike Sylvan lake which can get fairly crowded on the weekends, Legion Lake was less crowded and very pretty. I think the location of the resort is the best of all the Custer Resorts. We had a very nice time visiting Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave, Jewel Cave, Mammoth Site, Custer, and Crazy Horse. We saw a large amount of wildlife and really enjoyed the State run programs that can keep you busy for at least a week.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Small Closets and water heater.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    40
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakonda, SD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2007

We just returned from a stay at Legion Lake Resort in Custer, SD and it was perfect. I was leary since I couldn't find many reviews online about the cabins. Thank goodness it was more than what I expected. The cabin #2 was plenty big enough for me, my husband, and my two sons. It had two double beds and a twin bed. There was also a very clean bathroom, and small kitchen area. Everything was nice, neat, tidy and very homey. Laying in your bed you could look out big windows and see the lake. The resort supples you with a flat screen tv with sattelite hook up, wireless internet access and the all important fan. There is also a picnic table, small deck, fire pit and your own parking pad.
The cabin is located only about 10 miles from down town Custer so we were able to get groceries there for cookouts and such. The beach is just a short walk down the hill and you are at the swimming area or go a different path and you are on the hiking/biking trial. My sons rented mountain bikes and took the trails where they came across many deer. We also enjoyed the paddle boats at sundown one evening. All in all I would highly recommend this beautiful area for vacation. It is relaxing and a wonderful place to reconnect with family.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting.
  • Disliked — No air conditioning, but mostly didnt need it.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank daychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

We stayed at the Legion Lake Resort for 3 nights in a 2 room housekeeping cabin. Here is a rundown of our experience:

Cabin: Our cabin had a kitchen area and a double bed (sleeping area) in the main big room. It also had a separate bedroom with a double bed + a single bed. Great for a family of 5! The furnishings were homey, but also updated. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. On the downside, we did not have any AC...which I guess is usually not an issue in SD, however the week we were there it was 105! Luckily, it cooled down at night, and one of the employees at checkout mentioned there was talk of window AC units in the future.

Location/Surroundings: The cabins are located in Custer State Park, so the scenery is gorgeous. We were in cabin #1, and just walked out our door and down a hill to Legion Lake. There is a beach/swimming area, which came in handy in the heat, my children swam every day when we got back from site-seeing.

One thing to keep in mind, however, is that if you are staying in Custer State Park it takes much longer to get to and from other locations. The winding roads required careful, slow driving to get in and out...so we always had to allow more time to get to Mt. Rushmore and other sites. On the plus side, we usually saw wildlife on our many adventures.

I would definately recommend Legion Lake Lodge to anyone going to the Black Hills. (We also had occasion to visit the other 3 resorts in Custer State Park and they seemed great as well!)

  • Liked — Nice clean cabin, beautiful location
  • Disliked — No AC (we knew about it prior to booking), yet freakishly hot weather!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes
Level Contributor
413 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2006

Legion lake has been our choice for a 3 nights stay at Custer Park with 2 teenagers : proximity of the Lake, for swimmiing after the hikes, central location/differents trailheads we choose, Blackhill playhouse not too far.

Our cabin, L5 was perfect : 2 bedrooms, a great living/dining room with a whole kitcheen. All was clean, with aperfect housekeeping everyday(a lot of towels, soaps, shampoo,...). Bathroom was large and well equiped. Heat could have been a problem, but if you let windows open, it was enough...and it's not a problem because it's so quiet here... Price is another quality : 150$/night for such a cabin, you cannot imagine less.
The cafetaria is excellent for simple but good diners and breakfast.
Trouts are excellent, and bread too...

Erik Monpetit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Too short stay...
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaska, mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2006

We spent 6 days in and around the Custer State park area and stayed at Legion Lake Resort. for all our lodging We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We had a two bedroom cabin(L3) that was clean, closest location to the beach. The staff was extremely friendly helping with any questions we had.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Jelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2006

Stayed for 5 days in July 05 at Legion Lake Lodge in a one bedroom cabin that slept the 3 of us easily.
Cabins are clean and everything one would want (except cooking and eating utensils) is provided along with maid service. The cabins could use a little updating, but are still nice just the same. There is a fire ring and a picnic table outside and easy parking for at least one car. The area is beautiful! We saw deer twice just outside our cabin. The lake is a few minute walk from most cabins and was so clear you could see perfectly to the bottom in 6+ feet of water. You can fish, rent paddleboats or go to the beach area. The giftshop/restruant is also a few minutes walk from most cabins as well. But be sure to check out the other 3 resorts and the whole park for that matter. Each resort has it's own theme and activities(everyone I spoke to enjoyed the chuck wagon ride at Blue Bell). Legion Lake is the laid back family themed resort.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank ThomasP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
244 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2005

Stayed here in August 2005. Our family of 4 had a one bedroom/2 bed cabin and my inlaws had a 2 bedroom that easily slept their party of 5 adults and an infant, including the crib the resort provided. Both cabins were very clean. Towels and linens were provided and even had complimentary soaps and shampoos. My favorite part was the fire grates out front-we grilled out, had a fire and even had a buck walk by as we were having dinner. Walking distance down to the lake which has a nice beach area although the water was very cold! They are sticklers about the 2 p.m. check-in but check-in was easy and the employees were very friendly and helpful. I love this park and I'm glad we stayed there-next time will stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank librarychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
10.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
7.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
9.4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legion Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legion Lake Resort

Property: Legion Lake Resort
Address: 12967 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8348
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Hotel Class:2 star — Legion Lake Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Custer State Park accommodation is located near Legion Lake and offers access to fishing and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Legion Lake Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing