We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legion Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Legion Lake Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My experience with the cabin was average as we found the cabin too small for a 2 bedroom cabins and its pricy. I requested for a crib and the lodge people forgot put even after reminding them couple of days before the stay so i had to wait for them to bring the crib after i checked in. The cabins could have been cleaned better and the water in the restroom was brownish not sure if has something to do with the age of the cabin itself. Apart from that the location was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prem83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    40
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

2 of us stayed in a small sleeping cabin for 2 nights. The cabin was not that clean (dusty baseboards, hair and a bug in the tub, carpet hadn't been cleaned in awhile). The cabin was quaint, but did not have an especially good view of anything, and was up the hill and quite a ways from the lodge/restaurant/store, making it a difficult walk. The TV worked fine once we finally figured out the weird and difficult remote. For the price, it was not the best value around. Next time I will stay at a nice motel outside the park and just drive in to hike and see wildlife. Paying the extra money to stay inside the park was not worth it considering the quality of the room & the lack of anything to do at the cabin's location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Custer State Park is a beautiful place to visit. We had a family reunion there. Some of us camped in RVs at Legion Lake Campground. Others stayed in the Legion Lake cabins. We had previously stated at State Game Lodge cabins and were very happy there. Unfortunately State Game Lodge cabins were not available. The cabins at Legion Lake are close together and in a hill. There is enough space to park your vehicle. There is no place for children to play. Very disappointed. Each day those that were in the cabins had to come to the RV area in order for everyone to get together.

Room Tip: If you have children and plan to have activities at the cabin the Legion Lake area is not the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RileysGma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wautoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed with my sister and her two kids. We chose the 7-person cabin, which was a little bigger than we needed, but I'm glad we chose that one. It gave us a little more room which was helpful. The outdoor area had a nice fire pit and the view was amazing. One morning, we saw a herd of Elk, and there was much more wildlife throughout the park. The down side was the cleaning...the cabin needed a good cleaning, which we did ourselves. The silverware that was provided was inadequate...1 fork, 4 spoons, and 10 knives. There were a couple of stains on what appeared to be an otherwise new carpet.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin that will sleep a couple more people than you need, and you'll be happy with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestofbeth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed four nights in a 2 bedroom cabin. It was not very large, but we were rarely inside other than to sleep. Cabins were very clean and was in a good location. Would highly recommend. It is near very good hiking and wildlife scenery within the state park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank top27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in cabin 21 for 3 nights during our recent 10 day vacation throughout SW South Dakota. I was very happy with the "resort" location - the cabins were up the hill from the lodge, and were a bit removed from the main road. This was a big plus as motorcycle traffic increased during our stay in anticipation of rally week. The resort was also very convenient to other areas in the park, including the Wildlife Loop and Blue Bell Stables, as well as the town of Custer and a highway providing easy access to Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore. The cabins were on the rustic side, though they had a microwave, fridge, AC and TV. A few nights, we bought groceries at a market in Custer and grilled on the fire ring, which helped our travel budget. The beds were somewhat uncomfortable, and should probably be replaced as cabins are being updated. My biggest gripe was with the outdoor furniture. All the cabins had 4 person picnic tables (very weathered) near the fire rings, and most cabins had a few resin chairs about. These chairs were more comfortable for sitting by the fire, and it seems as though 2 per cabin would be reasonable. However, the chairs weren't marked by cabin number, and ours had a tendency to disappear during the day while we were sightseeing. I found this to be unnecessarily frustrating. Overall, a good stay in the Black Hills.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwalker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here with my husband for our anniversary since we couldn't get a cabin at Sylvan Lake. While, I understand this is camping, the cabins at this location are not worth the price. They are perfectly fine, just very "rustic". Again, it's camping so I am okay with the accommodations, just not for the price I paid for it! I'd expect something much more upscale.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
10.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
7.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
9.4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legion Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legion Lake Resort

Property: Legion Lake Resort
Address: 12967 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8348
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Hotel Class:2 star — Legion Lake Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Custer State Park accommodation is located near Legion Lake and offers access to fishing and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Legion Lake Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing