We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice cabin in idyllic setting”
Review of Sylvan Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sylvan Lake Lodge
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Very nice cabin in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed in a 2-queen cabin and were thrilled with it. The room was spacious and even though the bathroom was very small, no one cared becuase of the great location. These cabins are clustered into the woods of Custer State Park and it is extremely quiet, especially towards the evening. We loved that every cabin had their own picnic table, outdoor fire pit and fireplace in the cabin. For city-slickers like me it was fun to build a fire outside, roast hot dogs and make smores, but still have have a comfy bed and working bathroom 15 steps away. We stayed there on July 6th and the temperature got down into the 40's so we took full advantage of the fireplace. The main lodge itself is incredible and was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. After our hot dog dinner we went to the main lodge for a cup of hot chocolate to hang out by the massvie fireplace. We would defintiely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    123
    74
    53
    24
See reviews for
131
141
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Located on Sylan Lake, although can't see the lake from the Lodge, need to drive or hike to lake, which is a beautiful setting. Very short drive, 5-10 minute walk (not really a hike). No one can see the Lake from the Lodge or cabins. Lodge rooms are fine, have A/C, large showers (w/weird faucets, play with them, they work), beds are fine, were on 3rd floor, was quiet. Small coffee pot, no frig, cable TV with enough choices. Breakfast buffet was wonderful, good value, great service, nice dining room. Nice outdoor patio area. Very nice lobby area with comfortable chairs. No AT&T coverage for anyone in area, limited wireless in lobby. If in the Black Hills, would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denver6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longmont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Made reservations early based on a travel book. I should have read reviews here first! Overpriced, over-hyped. Did not get close to what was promised in advance.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Custer hotels

Black Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My family lives in Custer, and we enjoy eating at the lodge. The Sunday brunch buffet continues to decline in variety and quality year after year, though the (high) prices does not drop. I think we have finally had enough, and we don't plan on returning. If I am going to drop $75 on lunch for my family, I expect a great meal. Sylvan Lake Lodge does not provide one.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wunderkinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Sylvan Lake Lodge in a king suite. The room was spacious, clean and had a private balcony. We loved everything about it but the room is only the beginning. The main area of the lodge has a seating area with a large fireplace, perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine or cocktail. The entire room oozes charm and character, and I felt like I could have stayed for a month. The restaurant food was very good with friendly and efficient service. The manager, Mr. Larsen, was also very nice and we enjoyed our conversations with him very much. The hotel overlooks Sylvan Lake (although there are many beautiful trees blocking the view but that's not a big deal) and it is a short walk to the lake and the path around it. The walking trail is really wonderful and gives you great views all the way around the lake. You can also hike to Harney's Peak from the lake, using one of two trails. We especially liked the Wildlife Loop and saw lots of different animals. The Needles road is beautiful but very narrow...not sure I'd want to be on it at night. There is also a general store by the lake with lots of souvenirs and necessities...very, very handy. We also visited Rushmore and Crazy Horse: enjoyed them both but did not like Deadwood at all. The historic buildings are very beautiful but all of them are full of casinos..very touristy so I'd just recommend staying in your car and driving through to look. Deadwood restaurants offer very limited menus for lunch, sandwiches, etc...not exactly what we wanted to eat but we did find a good Chinese restaurant (upstairs at Miiss Kitty's) where the food was actually quite tasty. To sum it up, Custer State Park is absolutely gorgeous and Sylvan Lake Lodge is the perfect place to stay and unwind. Fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiles4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2010

My boyfriend and I were making a cross-country road trip in May 2010 and decided to stay at the Sylvan Lake Lodge for two nights, after staying a few nights in Yellowstone. I had seen mediocre reviews online and feared I had made a big mistake putting us here for two nights of the trip. After arriving, interacting with many staff members, eating in the dining room twice and thoroughly enjoying every aspect of my stay, I completely disagree with the negative reviews. I have a feeling that in the high season, the staff and amenities may occasionally reach a breaking point, but this is true of any national/state park facilities, and really shouldn't dissuade anyone from going to this great lodge!

What I liked most:
-The lodge's beauty: It is incredibly pretty and really has some old world charm that most modern lodges lack. It was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and the great room is simply gorgeous. We enjoyed G&Ts before dinner in front of a roaring fire. We had stayed at the Old Faithful Lodge in Yellowstone the night before, and though that hotel is huge and has its own unique beauty, I would definitely prefer the lodge for its quaint, quiet atmosphere and tasteful decor. Also, the scenery is just gorgeous and there are tons of hikes and activities within walking distance, not to mention that Mt. Rushmore is a short drive away.

-The staff: We were set for a late arrival and I feared that we wouldn't be able to check in, or that the staff would feel annoyed that we were getting to the lodge so late at night. When I called, a very nice lady at the front desk answered and assured me that we could show up at any time, and then told me that, if we were concerned we wouldn't have time to get food/food wouldn't be available so late, she would be happy to place orders for us in the dining room and would have our food ready to be taken to our room. So nice and totally unnecessary! When we checked in, the same lady was extremely friendly and helpful; I wish I knew her name, so I could give her a personal shout-out! Our whole trip was filled with pleasant interactions with staff: everyone was very friendly, approachable, and helpful in providing help, activity recommendations, checkout, etc.
-The room: We got the cheapest room, so it was small, but not uncomfortable or poorly set up. When we walked in, it had a pleasant clean smell that's often hard to find in well-worn hotels. Also, it was meticulously cleaned (and I'm super picky about this). The bathroom has pretty stone tile and the towels and toiletries had been tastefully placed. The bed was very comfortable (as opposed to the Old Faithful Inn in Yellowstone, which was lumpy and old), and the room had a beautiful view of the pine trees and lake. The only downfall perhaps was the shower, as it was a little on the old and cheap side. But, it worked well and really wasn't a big problem.

-The dining room: Some people didn't like the food at the dining room. Again, compared to Yellowstone, the food was much, much higher quality in taste and presentation. (It must sound like I hate Yellowstone! I LOVE Yellowstone, but our stay there was not as pleasant as this, unfortunately, and had been the night before). Also, our waiter knew a great deal about the wines on the menu, and made good recommendations for pairings for the food. I ordered the buffalo steak, and thought it was delicious and perfectly cooked. I have had several buffalo dishes before and found this one to be the best I've had.

Overall: Highly recommend this place. If you want to have the same quality and comfort of the Four Seasons, then stay there or don't be a baby about a few rustic aspects of a great resort. But, if you want a well-priced, beautiful hotel set in one of the prettiest places in the country, with a friendly, helpful staff, then definitely give Sylvan Lake a try. We have already talked about planning another trip through South Dakota in the future to be able to return to this lovely lodge.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeldrew
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Service was ok. Food was over priced. Stayed in a cabin near the lake which was nice but very bare minimum ammenities. The view and lake were amazing but better off saving money and staying outside the park on the north side and drive the 20 minutes to the lake. Not missing much by not staying at the lodge.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
4.2 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 17 in Custer
34 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Lake Lodge

Property: Sylvan Lake Lodge
Address: 24572 Sd Highway 87, Custer, SD 57730-5201
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvan Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This accommodation is located on Custer State Park's Sylvan Lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvan Lake Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing