We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Anniversity with Family”
Review of Blue Bell Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Bell Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“50th Anniversity with Family”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife, myself, Daughter, Son-in-Law and 4 grandsons stayed in two cabins June 25-28, 2014. We had a ball. The food at the lodge was great and the people were very nice. My only reservation would be that it rained every evening so things were a little muddy around the cabins. The cabins were clean, as cabins go, and were supplied with all the basic needs. Great air-conditioning, which is important to my wife. Buffalo came right up to the cabin. Custer State Park and surrounding attractions kept everyone interested and happy for the entire trip. The town of Custer has numerous places to eat and the ones we ate in were very good. My oldest grandson (13) stated to me - "This feels like home to me". No one wanted to go home!

Room Tip: Cabins are standalone so no noise issues. Cabins come in different sizes - choose the size you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_Forrester1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Ah Success!!! We want everyone that comes to Blue Bell to have the exact same feeling when they leave. Thank you so much for the review and we hope to see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    61
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
122
75
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our family travels extensively. My young kids have already been to 36 states. Our most wonderful adventure of all has been our trip to the Black Hills and our stay at Blue Bell. The cabin was excellent. The entire staff was accommodating and friendly and helpful and fun. Everything about this location is perfect. We are going back soon.

Room Tip: The best location in the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 152archieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Can't ask for a better review than that for sure and thank you!!! I am so glad your family had a wonderful experience here. My staff and I strive to make everyone feel at home and help in any way possible to make their experience one to remember. We will be happy to see you and your family again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights. The location was great and we loved being in the park. Very peaceful and quiet. Actually had a big bull bison roam through the grounds on our last night there. Beware, these are not domesticated animals. One guest got too close (trying to get a photo) and was charged by the bull. He made it back to his cabin but it was a good reminder to stay at a respectful distance. The beds in our cabin were saggy and not comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed for simple cooking and eating. Bathroom smelled a little of mildew however, the cleaning staff was top notch. Our cabin was thoroughly cleaned everyday. If you want to stay in the park this is a good place to be.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Blue Bell. I am glad that your overall stay was pleasant. Yes, some of the cabins are a little older and more rustic than others but all have their charms. The housekeeping staff here is top notch and we are fortunate to have them. Hope to have you back again sometime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights here in not the best weather at the beginning of June, and loved the fact that we had a beautiful modern well equipped cabin (no. 15) set right at the back of the resort, so quiet. Loved lighting the fire each evening and snuggling up. We ate a couple of times at the restaurant and the food was excellent, specially dinner. Breakfast service was a bit chaotic, but maybe they have a lot of trainees this time of year.
The state park is wonderful, maybe not the knockout splendour of Yellowstone, but somehow more accessible and very very beautiful. We spent a couple of dusks sitting in the car surrounded by a herd of buffalo on the move. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends

Room Tip: cabin 15 was well away from the (minimal) hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mindyournose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thanks for the excellent review. The Buffalo are my favorite animals, I could watch them all day. In my opinion, you had one of the best cabins in the park. Both for it's charm and seclusion. Blue Bell is a great place to stay if you're looking for a laid back experience!!! Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We didn't stay here, but we ate at the restaurant for lunch as we drove through the park. The buffalo melt was excellent. they cooked it a perfect med-rare. the beef dip sandwich was also excellent. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayday9722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Glad you had a great lunch!!! The Buffalo Melt and Dakota Dip are excellent choices. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin, WI
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We used to love to camp, but now, a cabin is perfect for us! Blue Bell was just what we wanted...clean and comfortable and right in the heart of Custer State Park. The staff was so friendly. The cabin was clean and quiet and stood firm during the windy, rainy storms. We were close to nature, yet right across the street from the restaurant. We saw buffalo just down the road a short distance. We will definitely request a Blue Bell cabin on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WIPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. My staff and I strive to make our guests feel like their home here at Blue Bell. Hope to see you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here two days ago for two nights in a two bedroom cabin. This cabin partially refurbished. Very limited equipment in kitchen, no toaster, no egg flip, only tools two plastic spoons. When I mentioned this to staff they said there were limited equipment, just had to take what you get. Maybe the one bedroom cabins are better as per previous reviews. Don't trust your gps to get there. Apparently this is a common problem. Location is good being inside Custer State park and the chuck wagon ride and dinner worth doing. Beds were comfortable. No wifi even though it is supposed to.

Room Tip: Stick to one bedroom with fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bronwyn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBellLodge, General Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We try to keep the kitchenettes stocked with basic cooking supplies but sometimes they grow legs and walk away. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. You are very right about GPS too, the mapping system for most GPS systems is insufficient for Custer State Park. That is why it is better to look for the signs. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
9.5 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
7.0 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#3 of 17 in Custer
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Lodge

Property: Blue Bell Lodge
Address: Custer State Park, 25453 Highway 87, Custer, SD 57730
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical lodge offering horseback riding and camping trips through Custer State park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing