We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome! recommend+want to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calamity Peak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calamity Peak Lodge
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Louisburg, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome! recommend+want to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

What a lovely jewel in the center of the black hills. We had a wonderful time in our spacious unit (#5) that included a large kitchen, separate bedroom and living area with king bed (very, very comfortable!) This was one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed {and we travel as a family quite a bit}, reasonably priced and was a perfect place for the grandparents, parents and 8 and 10 year old kiddos. Don't hesitate. Book it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    32
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
THORNTON
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This lodge is in such a pretty location. There are several different units with different features to choose from. We stayed in unit 3. My 6 year old, my husband and I loved it. It was small but cozy. It was so nice to have a fridge , stove, and microwave in a kitchen area instead of stuffed into a hotel room at the end of the bed. The bed was very comfortable and we only ran out of hot water once. The water gets good and hot and there is plenty of water pressure for the shower. The only complaint I have at all is that the shower spray is so spread out it takes longer to rinse off. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Beautiful little cabins...hoping to go back and stay there again some day!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpUpUpUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have stayed at the Lodge two Septembers in a row. The cabins are always spotless and we feel like we are stepping back in time, perhaps on a 1950's road trip. The location could not be much better, with easy access to Custer State Park and the town of Custer. We stay in a unit with a kitchen and appreciate the ability to cook ourselves a hot breakfast, pack a lunch, or fry up some trout we caught for dinner. The host, David, is welcoming and helpful. The room prices are hard to beat. We stayed 4 nights for what we would pay for one night in any major city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityhopper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana City, Montana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We spent two nights in cabin 9 last week. The outside is a little rough, but inside, WOW! The knotty pine paneling and the neat built-ins give the place a great rustic feel. This is one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed. The bed was good. Obviously someone really cares about the guests and the property.
David was friendly and helpful. He knows all about the area attractions and the local history.
We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: #9 had a fridge and a microwave if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed at Calamity Peak in mid-June in unit #5. While the cottages are older, they are very well maintained and super clean. David takes great care of the property. Our two young boys loved playing in the creek on the property and it was just minutes from everything we wanted to see. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AixBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

Very nice, very clean. Manager is friendly, accommodating and makes you feel like he enjoys having you there. The whole experience was a pleasant one. We stayed in cabin #9, Room was clean, spacious and bed was very comfortable. Great location, minutes from town and Custer state park, short distance from Mount Rushmore. Price was great! Fantastic view!

Couple of things to note, no air - comfortable enough at night we did not miss it. Bring your hair dryer. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank natn8425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in Unit #6 for 5 days in the beginning of July 2012. The room was very nice. Clean and airy. The porch view was amazing.. lightning over the mountain at night was a sight to behold. The beds were very comfortable. The pull out sofa bed not so much. Bathroom was clean, shower had good pressure. David was very accommodating with getting us what we needed (towels, etc). It was within minutes of town, 10 minutes of Crazy Horse and 35 minutes of Mt. Rushmore.

Our only problem was the directions to get there. We drove from New York arrived sometime around 2 or 3 in the morning..Driving through pitch black Custer State Park with all its curves and possibility of deer/bison jumping out at us (didn't happen but still..we avoid rats and people driving in NY..not bison.)

To make it easier for whoever stays here in the future please just put these coordinates in your GPS. It'll take alot of the guess work out of it.

43.77182 (43°46′18.555″N)
Longitude : -103.54647 (103°32′47.296″W)

Overall, i'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Unit 6. It's not attached to the other units and the balcony view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t3hnhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
6.9 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calamity Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamity Peak Lodge

Property: Calamity Peak Lodge
Address: 12557 US Highway 16a, P.O. Box 61, Custer, SD 57730-8301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Calamity Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing