We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay - Unit 6 -”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calamity Peak Lodge
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay - Unit 6 -”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently stayed at Calamity Peak Lodge / Unit 6. It was a great stay. The owners were so nice. The place was clean and comfortable. The full side bed / bedroom location was a bit tight, but the 2 kids slept there, so it was okay. It had a great view of the peaks across the road. We sat out there every evening. My daughter and niece (14 & 12 yrs old) loved walking the trail right outside of the lodge and the grounds of the lodge. They fed and petted the horse down the road every evening. The location was center to everything we wanted to see. The couch might need updating soon (for comfort.. it is a bit worn) However, if nothing changed, we would still stay there. We loved it and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Unit 6 has deck and best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renaandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    32
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

As part of our honeymoon, we visited The Black Hills area and I had previously found and reserved a cabin here. We were delighted with the cabin, the owners, and the location, which was very "central" to all the main attractions we wanted to see. The cabin was clean, comfortable, well furnished, and the owners absolutely welcoming, accommodating, friendly, and hospitable. It was so nice to be able to shop/cook our own meals-and loved relaxing by our little BBQ in the evening and have a glass of wine (local DakotaMart had a great selection!). We have nothing but wonderful memories of our little "honeymoon" cabin. :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fotokrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Port, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here in May with a group of 12 family members. The rooms/cabins are very neat and clean but could use some updating. I hear there are new owners starting this summer so maybe they will tackle this. The cabin my brother and his family stayed in was very small (it's the cabin at the very top of the hill) with an extremely small bathroom, but other than this, no complaints. The owner did ask my nephews (who are 7 and 2) not to move around any rocks in the stream, which I thought was an odd request since it is a stream with moving water in it and kids like to play with rocks, but whatever. We stayed here for a week and our room wasn't cleaned every day like I've usually had when staying places. We did get fresh towels and trash taken out every day however. There is no AC either, so if this is a problem for you here's an FYI.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We live in eastern South Dakota so a 3 day trip to the Black Hills is something we do often. We've stayed in many of the hotels in the area, but once we came to Calamity Peak Lodge we knew we'd found our "home away from home"! Small and rustic, very affordable, spotlessly clean, friendly manager and staff (they offered to loan us fishing poles for the trout stream right outside our door), and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Early in the morning after we arrived, we got coffee in the office and went and sat on our front porch. A doe with twin newborn fawns came walking along the stream. The doe stopped and seemed to be sizing us up to see if we were dangerous, then she put her head down to nibble on some of the grass growing along the banks. The fawns were playing and jumping around about 8 feet from our front door. So quiet you can hear the wind whispering through the trees. Close to everything and right at the edge of Custer State Park and the National Forest. We're going back again this summer and won't consider staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Many choices of room size and amenities, from very small and basic to a large stone and timber cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty9332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I spent three nights at Calamity Peak Lodge, and was impressed with how clean it was. The rooms are very small even for one person, but considering the rates I was very pleased with the accommodations. I wish the lobby had been a little more inviting. Overall, I would return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadron, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We loved this little place. It was snowing and we were tired of driving. We past this place so I looked it up on the internet. The prices were good. Most places in the hills are ridiculous prices.
It was cozy and warm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaisertire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Booked for four nights 09/2013. First night scratching in my sleep. Day two sitting on the couch, flea on my arm, don't say nothing to the misses, five minutes later another and another. Packed up the car went to the office explained, I was refunded the remaining nights but not the night we were bitten by the fleas. I think I would have given the $80 back for that first night just out of good nature being we had to up root at 8:00pm and go into town and get different accommodations. If you lay with dogs your bound to get fleas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwdk6866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
6.9 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
2.9 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calamity Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamity Peak Lodge

Property: Calamity Peak Lodge
Address: 12557 US Highway 16A, P.O. Box 61, Custer, SD 57730-8301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Calamity Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing