We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, laid back place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calamity Peak Lodge
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a basic,1950s style roadside motel with a very nice setting. The folks who run it are friendly and helpful. Rooms are not fancy - but the price and location are awesome. If you're looking for a good deal, this is it.

Room Tip: We had one of the small rooms with just a double bed and air mattress for our child. There are other...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJoeBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Calamity Peak Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a great location to just about everything in black hills, just outside of Custer. We stayed in #8. Which is the original house. They also rent out the upstairs and you can hear voices and walking when you are in the bathroom. I believe you can rent out both units too. I loved having laundry in the place. Nice for our family of 4 to stretch out for a few nights. Easy to cook in after eating out a lot and enjoyed the picnic table outside. Grocery store just down the road. Bedrooms are small but living room is large. Bathroom is huge with 2 sinks. Only one towel rack and I recommended to Joe that more racks and hooks should be added. I also think that better towels could be added - they were thin and small. There is a bit of road noise from 16 but not too bad. Joe and his family took over the place in May. He's formerly in construction and from the black hills. He's really looking forward to making additional upgrades. They were very receptive to feedback and they really wanted to be sure their guests were happy and taken care of. They seem to be enjoying their new home and helping guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyOfBoys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our family was in town for a wedding last week. I had made the reservations a year ago and was really excited to see our cabins. We rented 8 and 9 which are connected by a staircase. It was perfect for all us...large dining area with a large kitchen and a washer/dryer for when my granddaughters got their cloths dirty! We tubed down the creek, BBQ outside and enjoyed the view from the stone patio. Joe, Lori and Rebecca were more then friendly and accommodating for us and I feel like I have made real friends there. There is no question that we will stay here again and again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beisnerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently stayed at Calamity Peak Lodge / Unit 6. It was a great stay. The owners were so nice. The place was clean and comfortable. The full side bed / bedroom location was a bit tight, but the 2 kids slept there, so it was okay. It had a great view of the peaks across the road. We sat out there every evening. My daughter and niece (14 & 12 yrs old) loved walking the trail right outside of the lodge and the grounds of the lodge. They fed and petted the horse down the road every evening. The location was center to everything we wanted to see. The couch might need updating soon (for comfort.. it is a bit worn) However, if nothing changed, we would still stay there. We loved it and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Unit 6 has deck and best view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renaandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

As part of our honeymoon, we visited The Black Hills area and I had previously found and reserved a cabin here. We were delighted with the cabin, the owners, and the location, which was very "central" to all the main attractions we wanted to see. The cabin was clean, comfortable, well furnished, and the owners absolutely welcoming, accommodating, friendly, and hospitable. It was so nice to be able to shop/cook our own meals-and loved relaxing by our little BBQ in the evening and have a glass of wine (local DakotaMart had a great selection!). We have nothing but wonderful memories of our little "honeymoon" cabin. :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fotokrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here in May with a group of 12 family members. The rooms/cabins are very neat and clean but could use some updating. I hear there are new owners starting this summer so maybe they will tackle this. The cabin my brother and his family stayed in was very small (it's the cabin at the very top of the hill) with an extremely small bathroom, but other than this, no complaints. The owner did ask my nephews (who are 7 and 2) not to move around any rocks in the stream, which I thought was an odd request since it is a stream with moving water in it and kids like to play with rocks, but whatever. We stayed here for a week and our room wasn't cleaned every day like I've usually had when staying places. We did get fresh towels and trash taken out every day however. There is no AC either, so if this is a problem for you here's an FYI.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We live in eastern South Dakota so a 3 day trip to the Black Hills is something we do often. We've stayed in many of the hotels in the area, but once we came to Calamity Peak Lodge we knew we'd found our "home away from home"! Small and rustic, very affordable, spotlessly clean, friendly manager and staff (they offered to loan us fishing poles for the trout stream right outside our door), and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Early in the morning after we arrived, we got coffee in the office and went and sat on our front porch. A doe with twin newborn fawns came walking along the stream. The doe stopped and seemed to be sizing us up to see if we were dangerous, then she put her head down to nibble on some of the grass growing along the banks. The fawns were playing and jumping around about 8 feet from our front door. So quiet you can hear the wind whispering through the trees. Close to everything and right at the edge of Custer State Park and the National Forest. We're going back again this summer and won't consider staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Many choices of room size and amenities, from very small and basic to a large stone and timber cotta...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty9332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
6.9 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 18 in Custer
35 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
176 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
10.3 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calamity Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamity Peak Lodge

Address: 12557 US Highway 16A, P.O. Box 61, Custer, SD 57730-8301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Price Range: £42 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Calamity Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing