We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Captain's Table

Captain's Table
Ranked #22 of 45 Restaurants in Custer
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great place for seafood!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A seasonal restaurant that does a commendable job with seafood. The two of us tried the trout and the shrimp, and were not disappointed. Prices for these items were reasonable, although some menu items are a bit pricy. Service was friendly and professional, and the atmosphere is pleasant. Bottom line: a good place to eat during the season. If traveling here in the winter, check opening dates and hours before you go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Food_Detective101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    55
    34
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food & Great Value”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We ate our first meal here because the restaurant was right in front of the hotel we were staying at. The greeting was friendly, seating was quick and they had a booth available. Menu prices were consistent with other restaurants we experienced during our trip, however, with soup or salad included and a free glass of wine with dinner entree for patrons staying at nearby hotels, the value quotient jumped quickly. We ended up eating there twice during our stay, the prime rib was excellent both times, the other items were average. The "Captain's" portion of the menu is mostly fish and shrimp so we would not recommend this as "seafood" restaurant. We'll definitely return when we're in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank another-ol-phArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The restaurant is clean, the atmosphere is quite nice. The food, though reasonably priced, was only average

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmos, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money here”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The food was VERY expensive and tasted awful it tasted like it came out of a frozen tv dinner box. Service was terrible and the décor was dark and mismatched felt like we were eating in a creepy basement, the outside look really nice and we were expecting a "red lobster" type of place this is not a seafood or steak house it was a miss match of menu items.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

After holiday, so no crowds at all. Nice waitress. A fish net hanging over an air conditioner doesn't make it seaworthy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing