We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home made cooking”
Review of Captain's Table

Captain's Table
Ranked #22 of 46 Restaurants in Custer
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good home made cooking”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

So when you walk into the restaurant the immediate reaction is that this is going to be your run of the mill local town not-so-good restaurant, but what a pleasant surprise. The soup is actually home made and very good. The parmesan crusted cod was delicious and again it's clear all the cooking is local, there's none of the out of the bag frozen vegetables. It's not a five star restaurant but you're not going to pay five star prices, but for the price it's highly commendable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GarryPy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    57
    34
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shady Cove
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to eat”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This little gem, hidden in Custer, SD, is fabulous! Delicious, inexpensive prime rib and steaks, not to mention seafood, a great soup and salad bar, full bar, great atmosphere. We're from Southern Oregon but make sure to eat here every time we come through (at least once a year). Should be rated #1 for dinner in Custer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottumwa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food is wonderful,very friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Had prime rib dinner it was cooked to perfection .They offered o very nice salad bar.With the salad bar there was a choice of three different soups.The only down fall is there winter hours,they are only open on Friday and Saturday in November. I highly recommend at this restaurant when your travels take you to Custer,Sd.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very friendly service !”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Comfort Inn across the street from this restaurant, and someone of the reception staff said that this was one of the best restaurants in town.
We weren't disappointed !

The staff was very friendly and welcoming.
They seated us quickly, explained about the specials of the day, and asked us if we wanted soup or salad as first course, because that was included in the price of the main courses.

The food was very tasty; in fact it was the best American fare we had during our entire trip.

We were sorry that we only could dine here one time, because we certainly would have returned here if we had stayed another night in Custer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelcrazyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Convenient and fine”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This restaurant in Custer is located in walking distance of the Holiday Inn Express where we stayed for 3 nights. The food and service were fine, so we had dinner twice at this cosy place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pensionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing