We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing campground in the pines”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Welikit Family Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing campground in the pines”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here on night after finding Sylvan Lake campground full. What a fortunate happenstance. This little campground was quiet. All we heard was the wind in the pines. The bathrooms/showers were the best I've ever seen. Ther were ten individual bath/shower combos. Each had a private door and were cleaned three times away. The sites were large and well placed. We hated to leave. This is not a KOA, Nor is it intended to be. It's a quiet, out of the way campground that is in one of the most scenic areas I have ever visited.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbrown154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in the beginning of July. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and went out of their way to accommodate our stay. We have a small trailer and no air conditioning so the treed sites were great! The washrooms are top notch. WiFi reception was spotty from our campsite, but available in the picnic shelter close to the office. Between Custer City and Sylvan lake, so close to grocery store etc., but far enough away so very quiet.... We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEB116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We travel full time, and have been to a lot of areas around the country. We stayed here last year, and we are back here for this summer. It is by far our most favorite place to stay. The staff is so wonderful and helpful and friendly. This campground is near everything, besides the town to get supplies, Custer State Park is right here, beautiful lakes for fishing are very close by, it's very quiet and peaceful. The sites are large, you are not right on top of your neighbor, bathrooms are clean, laundry rooms on property, what else could you ask for. My husband is very picky with the places we stay, and if he loves this place, you can rest assured you will fall in love with Fort Welikit and the Custer area. We stayed here in a 40 foot 5th wheel with 5 slides, plenty of room for our huge home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robtzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the tent area (with electric/water). What a wonderful quaint campground. The folks that ran the campground were very nice and helpful. We would stay here again without question. The only drawback was the shower lines. The showers are private but there are only 8. The campground is nestled in the Black Hills, so lots of pine trees and real forest setting. We very much enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Off the beaten path but not too far. Great campsites and very friendly staff. Good clean and private bathrooms. Lots of wildlife comes around the camp. On a clear night the sky and stars are very beautiful. Can't wait til the next Black Hills Bike Rally.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildWayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The only two negatives to this campground: the bathrooms are a bit of a walk and the site wasn't that level. But otherwise it's very nice. We had a covered picnic area, relative privacy (for a small campground), and the bathrooms are very clean.

The location is great. Custer is right down the road and there's a grocery store and many restaurants. Sylvan Lake is also minutes away and a great place to swim the day away.

We aren't really campers, but we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleofrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
1.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 17 in Custer
557 reviews
10.9 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
907 reviews
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Custer
Econo Lodge Custer
#10 of 17 in Custer
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Welikit Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Welikit Family Campground

Property: Fort Welikit Family Campground
Address: 24992 Sylvan Lake Rd, Custer, SD 57730-7265
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing