We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campground in the woods of The Blackhills.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Welikit Family Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Fort Welikit. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We had excellent wifi, cable tv, sewer, water and electric. Everything worked perfect and it was a most enjoyable stay. We would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Al Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Fort Welikit Family Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

The people are wonderful here! The teepees are clean and fun ... We will stay here again. Close to custer .. close to hiking - lake - the park - fun experience. I would suggest this to anyone who wants to enjoy a little outdoors and have fun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in both the TiPi and the covered wagon on site. We liked the unique experience. The campground was very clean and the sites were far enough apart for privacy. The bath area is also clean and divided to that each person has their own personal shower, sink, and toilet. The laundry room was large. It is close enough to the attractions and black hills hiking. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only con was our site location was closest to Sylvan Road and a few times we woke up from the cars on the road.

Room Tip: A site away from the Slyvan lake side is best.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Ft. Welikit is a wonderful family camp ground. The bathrooms are clean, there is WiFi, laundry and it is located in a very quiet and beautiful setting. Just a little north of Custer City, Ft. Welikit is on the Sylvan lake road, close to wonderful hikes, fascinating caves and of course Mt. Rushmore. If you are looking for a good place to get away for a weekend or a week I would highly recommend it. We enjoy it so much we try to go at least a couple of times each summer.

Room Tip: All the sites are clean and easy to access, they have tent sites too.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was a fabulous rv campground. Right in the middle of the pines but only 1 mile from Custer and Custer State Park. Very close to all the wonderful things in the Black Hills. The bathrooms are very clean and private!. The staff was very friendly and helpful with their knowledge of the best places to see in the Black Hills. I will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John-Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a wonderful time at Fort Welikit. The owners/management were warm and friendly. We stayed in an adorable cabin with a kitchen, bath, and three bedrooms--two of which were separate lofts above the main floor. The campground is located right outside Custer so it was an easy drive to visit Mt. Rushmore and the Custer State Park for nature and wildlife viewig. We were so impressed that we hope to visit again and again.
Highly recommended for rv and camping fun!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have been to the Black Hills many times, at least once a year since 2007. We have stayed in cabins twice & all other times stayed in hotels or lodges. We have had many good experiences. Last fall we purchased a camper after only tent camping occassionally through the years. We camped several weekends here at home this spring/summer & decided to head to the Hills for a week long camping vacation in mid-July. After reading reviews & looking at many campgrounds online, we made our reservation at Fort Welikit Campground just outside of Custer, SD & Custer State Park! What a GREAT decision that was! Our priorities were pine shaded sites, with some space, not right on top of the neighbors, & clean, convenient bathrooms. Fort Welikit fit that perfectly! We loved our site (#49)! We wanted to be centrally located & especially near Custer State Park, the location was PERFECT & very easy to get to when coming from Custer City.

All of the staff we interacted with were very helpful & personable. The campground was kept very clean & it was convenient to be able to purchase firewood & ice at the office. If you are looking for the type of campground that offers "full service, convenience store" type services this is not the place! We didn't use the laundry facilites but we did check them out & they were clean & kept up well. One of the selling points for us were the "family style" bathrooms. Having not camped for an entire week before, the bathroom was a big issue! Fort Welikit had great bathrooms, we never had to wait for one & they did a good job keeping things clean, even with rain almost everyday & the challenge of keeping the floors clean. The only concern we would raise is that the bathrooms were frequently out of toilet paper. I know the staff can't control how much toilet paper gets used or people taking rolls of toilet paper from the rest rooms but that that a problem! We just learned to always take some with us each time! We suggested installing the locking comercial toilet paper holders to the owner & he said they were so expensive. We would rather pay a dollar or two per night for the campsite & know there would always be toilet paper in the bathroom!

Other than that everything else was exactly what we were hoping for in our first camping vacation. The sites were level, the picnic tables in great condition & we loved having the fire ring. They also have two cabins that we checked out for the future & there are two tipi's and one covered wagon available for a more "rustic" camping experience. There is also a Fort themed playground area for kids. The campgroupd was perfect, we had a wonderful, relaxing week and we definitely plan to return to Fort Welikit Campground on a future trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
1.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
1.5 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
568 reviews
1.4 mi away
Custer Crazy Horse Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Welikit Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Welikit Family Campground

Address: 24992 Sylvan Lake Rd, Custer, SD 57730-7265
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Price Range: £15 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing