We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Welikit Family Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Brevard County, FL
Level Contributor
178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here over 4th of July weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is a great campground with all the amenities. Our site was a bit tight but comfortable. It was configured in a terraced fashion and gave us a feeling of privacy although we could see our neighbors. Can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the management was!! Spent a lot of time giving me information about the area and such! Much appreciated! One thing I found was the dryers in the upper laundry building do not have temperature adjustments. Don't use these dryers unless you want to spend a small fortune trying to dry your clothes!!! Use the laundry by the office instead! This campground is in a prime area for attractions (Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind Cave etc) and the great outdoors (Custer State Park). Restaurant choices in the area abound. Close proximity to Rapid City, Angostura State Recreation area, Wall Drug and the Badlands make this a wonderfully located campground to spend your vacation. Can't wait for our next opportunity to visit Ft Welikit - we DO like it!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tripsahoy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ftwelikit, Owner at Fort Welikit Family Campground, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. As the new owners we greatly appreciate or customers input. We are very proud of our staff and glad that they were able to help you and make your stay great. We also appreciate the input on the smaller upper dryers and will work toward addressing this. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were glad to find a great park that is in the trees as advertised. All the perks you could ask for, 50 amps, Sewer and Cable T.V. and yet we still felt like we were camping and not just parked in a big lot. No cookie cutter sites in this park, each was unique and separated from the next one. Our site easily fit our rig and the trees made for shade in the afternoon so as to sit outside and enjoy the mountain air. A great location as a base for your adventures and a quiet place to come back to at night to unwind. Just a mile to town were you have access to grocery stores, food, and shops. The staff was pleasant and helpful and full of area knowledge to help us plan our days. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cr0pduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This campground is the best campground I have ever seen. Staff was very nice and the location is very pretty. The electric tent site was very well maintained. Bathrooms are great with a shower and real toilet and sink. Multiple water sites made it easy to refill water containers.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper11589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ftwelikit, Owner at Fort Welikit Family Campground, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our tent sites and that we were able to offer you the amenities needed for a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a very nice RV park nestled in the Black Hills of South Dakota just outside of Custer. This became home base for us as we explored Mt. Rushmore and the surrounding area. Large RV's can be accommodated easily here. Staff are friendly and are willing to assist in any way they can. The RV park has a small store on site for the basics and just a 1.5 down the road in Custer anything you could possibly need is available.

The bathroom/shower rooms where always clean and in good working order. The only draw backs here was Wifi was very slow or non-existent in certain areas of the park.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a different site other then #35. This site is near the bath/shower rooms and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently stayed here one night to test out our pop-up before we took it on a trip to Colorado. That was a great choice on our part. The campground is quiet and heavily wooded. Because it is off a road that doesn't have much traffic it is pretty quiet. The restrooms are family-style with toilet, sink & shower in one room. The customer service is the best we've ever experienced. We knocked out our electricity by using a heater & an appliance. The owner and the manager spent a whole hour at our pop-up trying to solve the problem. Try getting that type of service at a KOA! Skip the crowded campgrounds at Custer State Park and stay here instead! It is only 5 minutes from the State Park!

Room Tip: Choice a site away from the road if you have a pop-up or tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runnerwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, MO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our family in June. I was a little concerned when we pulled in but was pleasantly surprised. This campground was really cute. The shower house and laundry rooms where very clean. Actually some of the cleanest I've seen. The prices were some of the best. I wish it wasn't such a drive to the major attractions but the drive is so beautiful you can't really complain.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Didimomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Anyone can take a parking lot and turn it into a campground... This campground, however, has character and scenery. Beautiful tall pines all throughout, wildlife ( we had a doe that visited us every morning!) , no major road noise! All makes for a wonderfully relaxing experience. Great location to Custer State Park, just a couple of miles to Crazy Horse, Mt. Rushmore is just a 20 min ride north. Loved that it was close enough to everything, but far enough from the busy areas and roads. Custer is a great little town with perfect access via 4-wheelers to some great riding trails. Loved that we could just plate and register our quads and run them down any road to anywhere!! Even though it's a "family" campground, we found it to be very quiet so you could just sit out and listen to nature! The bath houses are private, single rooms and VERY clean. Loved the privacy! We have a big rig and toy hauler - 67' total length. Didn't have any trouble with our site, although I could see where a couple of the pull thru sites would be hard to maneuver. Staff was wonderful! All so extremely friendly and helpful. We actually arrived in from our 1200 mile trip a night earlier than expected and they bent over backwards to accommodate us! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manderson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
10.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
6.0 mi away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#1 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Welikit Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Welikit Family Campground

Property: Fort Welikit Family Campground
Address: 24992 Sylvan Lake Rd, Custer, SD 57730-7265
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing