We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Double D B&B Cabins
Ranked #19 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Sunset, La.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must stay!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are looking for a quiet rustic place to stay, then this is it. The cabins are comfortable with everything you need, including wifi. After sightseeing all day, we would come home to relax on the porch or the swing and their cat would come sit with us. The breakfasts were the best we had on our vacation because of the food and the conversation. Stoney made blueberry pancakes, ham & cheese omelet and apple puff for us the three mornings we were there. We left every morning full and he even made our coffee the way we like it after finding out we like it stronger. It is like staying with friends or family. We highly recommend it and if we are ever in that area again, will definitely stay there. It was the best sleep we had on our 9 days of travel. Thanks again Stoney and Cindy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craftyjanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Salem, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This place is wonderful. We went out for sturgis and didn't want to be in the crowds. It was way more perfect than we ever hoped for. Cindy and Stoney are such great people. They know exactly what not to miss seeing while you are there. The cabins are clean and stocked with everything you could possible need. Breakfast is wonderful. We stayed 8 nights and hated leaving. Hotels were not as good after staying with them. I am an animal lover and missed my animals while we were away, they have the best cat. He made my nights, every night he welcomed us back and spent time with me. If you are ever in the area you need to stay here. I have never wrote a review in my life and felt it is such a nice place I had to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliemclaughlin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If your after something off the tourist trail for your stay in the Mt Rushmore region then this place is perfect. Stoney and Cindy were the perfect hosts and we loved the hand built pine cabins made by Stoney himself. Cindy's homemade breakfast were delicious and there was no problem putting our hire car in their garage when an overnight storm occurred. The peacefulness of their location and the stillness is perfect. Their cabins have all the modern amenities you need. This place rocks and it was safe for our 22month old to run around outside. Highly recommended and very cost effective given the overall experience and pricing of other places in the area.

Room Tip: There are only 2 cabins exactly the same which is what makes this place so great! Get in quick....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owatonna, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Dear Stoney and Cindy:
Wow we'd really like to thank you for the excellent B&B that you operate. For a family of 5 and a dog it's the perfect fit for us. Your location is convenient for many Black Hills attractions. Even if we were just to stay at the Double D alone the hiking/horse trails are more than sufficient to get away and see the country up close. I like the DD being off the main road and on a dead end too. It has the peace and quiet of Nature that we all long for.
It was also nice to get to know you two a little better every morning during your really awesome breakfasts and our leisurely engaging conversations. Your modus operandi shows good teamwork between the two of you showing a good business model together with high quality rustic accommodations.
It's so nice that your guests, dogs too, have virtually free range of your whole place plus the neighbors and the Black Hills National Park right next door. The grill provided with the cabin was perfect for us to do our own family cooking. We also appreciate your knowledge of the area. Cindy seems to know all the opening hours and activities in the whole Hills. And Stoney knows how to get there the rest of the story more often than not. We'll recommend your place to anyone heading that way. And we definitely would like to head that way again. We'll keep in touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GratefulOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waunakee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

From the moment we drove up, we knew we'd selected the right place to stay. Stoney and Cindy warmly greeted us and showed us the accomodations. The cabins were extremely clean and were well stocked with all of the necessities. The homemade breakfasts were fabulous and their advice was appreciated. It was peaceful and very relaxing and if you couldn't leave technology behind they provide wireless internet and satellite services. Even thought this is a rural area, all of the major tourist attractions are closeby and easily reached. I can't wait to return and will definitely stay at Double D. I've stayed at quite a few B&B's and Stoney and Cindy are the best innkeepers I've ever met! They give you as must privacy as you want. I would highly recommend the Double D if you are looking for a quiet rural area close to the various South Dakota attractions. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyrudy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had a very nice time staying at Double D. The hospitality was just like family. They served a wonderful breakfast in the morning.One morning, they served homemade bread and homemade preserves for part of the breakfast. Stoney and Cindy were friendly and considerate. The cabins were clean, quiet, and well kept. They helped out in anything that they could.
This was very relaxing, and we were still not far from the tourist attractions. I would reccomend this to anyone. This made for a very nice stay in South Dakota.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

If you want to be in the midst of touristy activity and noise, then the Double D is not for you! Located a few miles miles down a dirt road (watch out for deer at night!), it is an oasis of quiet and rest in a area packed with tourist attractions and natural beauty. While the term "B&B" sometimes implies "no privacy", here you'll have your own spotless cabin that's well-appointed with all necessities, including satellite TV and internet for those who want a rural experience without leaving technology behind. At the end of a day that can easily include Mt. Rushmore, the Badlands, Devil's Tower, Custer State Park, or Deadwood, you can return to your quiet cabin and watch the horses and the sunset while grilling your dinner or just relaxing on your private porch. Stoney and Cindy are the best of hosts - always available yet never obtrusive. Breakfast is included - you'll find delicious food and fascinating conversation!

Room Tip: The Double D has 2 identical cabins. Each cabin has a Queen bed, a pull-out sofa, and a loft with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peggy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
12.3 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 17 in Custer
34 reviews
15.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
14.6 mi away
Motel 6 Hot Springs
Motel 6 Hot Springs
#4 of 9 in Hot Springs
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
14.1 mi away
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
#3 of 9 in Hot Springs
203 reviews
14.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double D B&B Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double D B&B Cabins

Property: Double D B&B Cabins
Address: 26575 Jack Pine Rd, Custer, SD 57730-9120
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing