We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Pine Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This place was great. Just outside of Custer. In a nice setting of trees, felt private. The bathrooms and showers were immaculate! Ron and Angie were friendly and welcoming. We camped in a tent and liked our spot. Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a nice stay at Big Pine Campground. The folks that work there were both friendly and informative. I like that they offer a discount to veterans as well as active military. The sites were well kept and the bathrooms were immaculate, probably the best I have seen in 50 years of camping. Hot showers were all clean and at no extra charge. We would stay there again if we get back to South Dakota. Don't miss this campground if your in the area.

Room Tip: Camping in South Dakota
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Not some parking lot off the highway. Very pretty, wooded quiet campground with clean facilities and level sites. We came in at night and they guided us to our site. Staff was very friendly and helpful. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

The entire campground is very clean and extremely well taken care of. My family and I are tent campers and were very pleased with our campsite. The tent sites are in they're own separate area and you never feel like you are camping in between a bunch of rv's...because you're not.

Outstanding customer service as well. The owners were fantastic.

I highly recommend this campground and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtrekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We chose to stay here for our very first outing in our motorhome and it was great. Easy access to nicely leveled spots. Very clean facilities. Friendly helpful service. Nice and quiet with staggered spots for privacy.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We made a one night stop here and chose this RV park from reviews. Reviews accurate. Big sites, clean hot showers, and very attentive friendly owners. Just outside of Custer and about 25 minutes to Mount Rushmore.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dadickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at Big Pine and will not be our last. Ron and Angie know what customer service really means. They are both very friendly and accommodating and will go out of their way to make you feel right at home. Many, many things to do close by but you still get the quietness of the big pines and enjoying the laid back feeling of camping. This park is pet friendly as well.

Thanks Angie and Ron!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
8.8 mi away
Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
2.5 mi away
Custer Crazy Horse Campground
15.1 mi away
Powder House Lodge
Powder House Lodge
#1 of 10 in Keystone
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
2.3 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 18 in Custer
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pine Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Campground

Address: 12084 Big Pine Rd, Custer, SD 57730-7215
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want serenity and seclusion? Spacious, level, shaded sites. 50 & 30 Amp. Camper cabins. Sparkling clean showerhouses/restrooms. Wi-Fi, fire pits, picnic tables, laundry, game room, playground, horseshoes, volleyball, hiking and biking trails. Open May 20-Oct 1. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing