We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brief stay but will return”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Pine Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brief stay but will return”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We pulled in very late our first night and the owner, Ron checked us in and personally took us to our site. He helped back my husband into the spot. We stayed two evenings. They delivered firewood to our campsite, informed us of best area to sightsee for wildlife, very accommodating. the kids played on the playground. It is older, but kids didn't seem to mind. Showers were very clean. We didn't use the laundry, so I can't comment on that. Great place to stay! You will enjoy the shade, large spots (we have a 32ft motorhome), best customer service. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I hesitated at first when booking this campground, thinking It may be too far out from everything. Not the case at all! Everything was pretty much within a half hour drive or less for us.The owners Ron and Angie were amazing host and I would definately recommend this campground to anyone going to stay in the area. The laundry was nice and clean and kept up daily. Firewood was delivered to our site which was very spacious. We had some issues with our tow car hitch and a lost key and called ahead and the hosts were ready and able to help us when we got there. Our stay at Big Pine will be a memorable one for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilkersons77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Our family stayed at Big Pine for a week last week during 4th of July. We found them online and did not know what to expect. Fortunately we had a great stay, there was not anything about the campground that we did not like. First of all Ron and Angie are terrific hosts, extremely friendly and helpful. The site we had (site 45) was spacious (especially for our 2 golden retrievers), it was very near the bathrooms/showers, and it was located (as are most/all of the sites) in the big pines. The bathrooms were very clean, a big plus! The campground is 5 minutes from downtown Custer. The only minor item is that most of the sites are not pull-thru sites, but Ron is very helpful in getting things where they need to be! If you are looking for a campground near Custer/Mt. Rushmore, I highly recommend Big Pine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Branch, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Lots of trees and shade in rv site. Horseshoes for kids. Playground good but a bit worn down. Clean bathrooms and showers. Laundry a bit expensive a load $2.00 to wash and .75 to dry for thirty min. No pull thru sites but big enough to back in easily. Some grass at sites. No bugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlong0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My family had an excellent experience at Big Pine Campground. They had sites spacious enough to accommodate our 35-foot 5th-wheel and was located in a quiet, shaded area away from the road. Excellent and clean facilities with an accommodating general store. Owners Ron and Angie are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will be looking forward to coming back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here with husband and young daughter. Out site was a very nice size with fire pit and picnic table. We backed up to the woods and were able to watch the sunset through the trees and even watch some deer! We were just a short walk from the bathrooms that were very clean and had hot, free showers. The owners are very friendly and do a wonderful job of making you feel welcome. Close enough to everything to not be inconvenient but not too close to be over crowded. Thanks for the great stay! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: RV sites in the back/top of the park are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This place is only about a fifteen minute drive to the Mount Rushmore National Park and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. I spoke with Ron on the phone and let him know that we would be coming in EXTREMELY late at night but I really wanted to stay at their facilities. He replied to me, "No Problem!" I gave him my information and he gathered all the information that we needed and left it outside the office on a poster board for us. We got there around 3 AM and when I ran up to grab our paperwork, a smile cracked across my face when I saw written on the front page "Welcome to Big Pine Campground we hope you enjoy your stay and we will see you in the morning!" Everything we needed was included in the little packet and we were set for the night. When check out came the next day we went and talked to Ron and his wife and they were some of the nicest people you could ever ask for! I am so glad we stopped her, I only wish I could have stayed for a few more days!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmander_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
2.0 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#1 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
2.3 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pine Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Campground

Property: Big Pine Campground
Address: 12084 Big Pine Rd, Custer, SD 57730-7215
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want serenity and seclusion? Spacious, level, shaded sites. 50 & 30 Amp. Camper cabins. Sparkling clean showerhouses/restrooms. Wi-Fi, fire pits, picnic tables, laundry, game room, playground, horseshoes, volleyball, hiking and biking trails. Open May 20-Oct 1. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing