We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Pine Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a great experience! This campground is definitely a great place to stay. The facilities are kept in excellent condition, and the owners go the extra distance to make it a great stay. Within 5 minutes Ron was there helping me setup the camper. You just don't get that kind if service at other locations. I highly recommend big pine, and if your wondering where to stay, look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Big Pine Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our first stay here, but it won't be our last. The owners are sooo nice and friendly. Always ready to help out if needed. The entire campgrounds are neat and clean. I just got back from walking my dog and they already had someone out checking the spaces that were vacated this morning to make sure it was ready for the next campers. It is sooo peaceful here with pine trees for much shade and back far enough from the highway to make you feel you are back in the woods. And you are not cramped with other campers. If you are planning a stay in the Custer area, look no further, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joylaverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We pulled in very late our first night and the owner, Ron checked us in and personally took us to our site. He helped back my husband into the spot. We stayed two evenings. They delivered firewood to our campsite, informed us of best area to sightsee for wildlife, very accommodating. the kids played on the playground. It is older, but kids didn't seem to mind. Showers were very clean. We didn't use the laundry, so I can't comment on that. Great place to stay! You will enjoy the shade, large spots (we have a 32ft motorhome), best customer service. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I hesitated at first when booking this campground, thinking It may be too far out from everything. Not the case at all! Everything was pretty much within a half hour drive or less for us.The owners Ron and Angie were amazing host and I would definately recommend this campground to anyone going to stay in the area. The laundry was nice and clean and kept up daily. Firewood was delivered to our site which was very spacious. We had some issues with our tow car hitch and a lost key and called ahead and the hosts were ready and able to help us when we got there. Our stay at Big Pine will be a memorable one for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilkersons77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Our family stayed at Big Pine for a week last week during 4th of July. We found them online and did not know what to expect. Fortunately we had a great stay, there was not anything about the campground that we did not like. First of all Ron and Angie are terrific hosts, extremely friendly and helpful. The site we had (site 45) was spacious (especially for our 2 golden retrievers), it was very near the bathrooms/showers, and it was located (as are most/all of the sites) in the big pines. The bathrooms were very clean, a big plus! The campground is 5 minutes from downtown Custer. The only minor item is that most of the sites are not pull-thru sites, but Ron is very helpful in getting things where they need to be! If you are looking for a campground near Custer/Mt. Rushmore, I highly recommend Big Pine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Lots of trees and shade in rv site. Horseshoes for kids. Playground good but a bit worn down. Clean bathrooms and showers. Laundry a bit expensive a load $2.00 to wash and .75 to dry for thirty min. No pull thru sites but big enough to back in easily. Some grass at sites. No bugs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahlong0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My family had an excellent experience at Big Pine Campground. They had sites spacious enough to accommodate our 35-foot 5th-wheel and was located in a quiet, shaded area away from the road. Excellent and clean facilities with an accommodating general store. Owners Ron and Angie are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will be looking forward to coming back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
8.8 mi away
Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
2.3 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
568 reviews
2.5 mi away
Custer Crazy Horse Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pine Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Campground

Address: 12084 Big Pine Rd, Custer, SD 57730-7215
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want serenity and seclusion? Spacious, level, shaded sites. 50 & 30 Amp. Camper cabins. Sparkling clean showerhouses/restrooms. Wi-Fi, fire pits, picnic tables, laundry, game room, playground, horseshoes, volleyball, hiking and biking trails. Open May 20-Oct 1. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing