We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Pine Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I tent camped at Big Pine for 12 days in June, and left just as Sturgis was starting. Ron and Angie were fantastic! They were very helpful and attentive to any questions or issues we had (which were not many, but for example our fire pit was really deep - I mean like three feet deep, and I wanted to grill without burning down the forest, so Ron came to our campsite with bricks to put in the bottom, and checked on us a few times to make sure we were happy with the fix. Worked great!) The bathrooms, office, laundry room and game room were all spotlessly clean and the washers and dryers all worked well. We did laundry there twice during our stay. The water spigots were convenient and the water even tasted good! No metallic or sulphery taste. This was our first tent camping experience for such a long stretch and so we don't have a lot of comparison, but we left really happy with our choice to stay at Big Pine. It's back from the road far enough that you don't get all the road noise (which was especially great as Sturgis got going), and all the grounds are shaded. The tent sites seemed nicely spread out too, so we didn't feel like anyone was right on top of us. It's very family oriented and the nights were very quiet and peaceful. The location right next to Custer can't be beat. We would definitely stay here again! Ron and Angie are running a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
58
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bremen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This really is a nice campground, bathrooms were decent & owners were nice.This campground doesn't have any frills, which we were already aware of. We chose it due to it's close proximity of tourist attractions & Custer State Park. They have a camp store, but it is very limited & they do not sell any perishable food. They have a very nice launry room & it is priced reasonably (in July 2013 the washers were $2 & dryers .75 cents. The one thing that would make this campground awesome is the addition of a swimming pool! In all they are a decent little campground for the budget minded family. I would definitely recommend them.

Room Tip: Lower level tent sights are closer to the road (traffic noise), but are convenient to all the amenit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Without a doubt this is the best campground I have visited in South Dakota. And my wife and I have visited many. Awesome location and it's so quite. The staff is super friendly. The place is well kept. You can tell the owners care about the campground and the campers.
Give this place a try. You will no regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a tent for 3 nights. Great location for My Rushmore, jewel&wind cave, Custer state park and Crazy Horse. Our site was near the trails and we saw deer behind us whilst having dinner. Clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Wifi decent. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

What a beautiful campground! Set in the pine trees, with plenty of space between neighbors, it is an ideallic spot. They sell local South Dakota wine in the campstore! They helped direct us into our spot, which is such a nice touch that many campgrounds just don't do any more. They gave suggestions on food (Purple Pie place). Close to Custer State Park and within driving distance to most South Dakota attractions, it's far enough away to be a haven. We had such a great time that we have already returned once this season and can't wait to book another return trip! The owners remembered us and you can just tell that they value their guests and want to make their place home to all travelers. We stayed in our RV so did not use the restroom. We used their water and 50amp hookups and purchased firewood from them. Loved the generous space between spots!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaMandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a great experience! This campground is definitely a great place to stay. The facilities are kept in excellent condition, and the owners go the extra distance to make it a great stay. Within 5 minutes Ron was there helping me setup the camper. You just don't get that kind if service at other locations. I highly recommend big pine, and if your wondering where to stay, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodward, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our first stay here, but it won't be our last. The owners are sooo nice and friendly. Always ready to help out if needed. The entire campgrounds are neat and clean. I just got back from walking my dog and they already had someone out checking the spaces that were vacated this morning to make sure it was ready for the next campers. It is sooo peaceful here with pine trees for much shade and back far enough from the highway to make you feel you are back in the woods. And you are not cramped with other campers. If you are planning a stay in the Custer area, look no further, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joylaverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
2.0 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
2.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
2.3 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pine Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Campground

Property: Big Pine Campground
Address: 12084 Big Pine Rd, Custer, SD 57730-7215
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want serenity and seclusion? Spacious, level, shaded sites. 50 & 30 Amp. Camper cabins. Sparkling clean showerhouses/restrooms. Wi-Fi, fire pits, picnic tables, laundry, game room, playground, horseshoes, volleyball, hiking and biking trails. Open May 20-Oct 1. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing