We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Custer
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Johnstown, Pennslyvania
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We chose this hotel based upon location.to attractions and Custer State Park. We had made the reservation last December at a low cost. In Feb. we had to shorten our stay by a day and our room price increases by $30 a day. The staff was able to resolve the matter. The hotel is very clean and town is walkable. I also had difficulty connecting to Wi-Fi and a staff member took care of it. Great place to stay when in the are.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsosci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
We do our best to offer friendly and helpful service to all our guests. Thanks so much for your kind words. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    60
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
61
47
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This motel was clean and quiet. The furniture looked new and was charmingly rustic to go with the area's cowboy theme. The shower was terrific. Staff members are very nice. The motel is very close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and other activities. This is a great place to stay at a great price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jos2000, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to comment on our motel. Our furniture is brand new--aspen and alder. We're glad you liked it. We want all our guests to feel special and enjoy their stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our visit to Mount Rushmore. After a nights camp in badlands, more than the room,we were extremely happy to get a room with extremely clean and spacious bathroom. The rooms didn't have microwaves though but the staff was kind enough to let us use the kitchen microwave to heat our packed dinner.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
36dodge, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel. We are glad that the accomodations were up to your expectations. Glad that we were able to accomodate you with a microvawe. Hope you think of us again, the next time you are in Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The rooms were newer feeling and clean. Beds are comfortable and the hallways were quite even on the busy holiday weekend. The classic continental breakfast was spare but would do for fast in and out with cereal and donuts. The pool was a real letdown.. very tiny and dirty.

Room Tip: Good place for a good nights sleep.. bad place if you need a decent pool for kids or yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcwifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jos2000, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Our pool is cleaned and maintained DAILY. I am sorry the guest did not feel it was up to their standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Labor Day. The Continental Breakfast was very good but the room was a little small to eat it in. We would stay there again. Very reasonable price in downtown Custer. If you are hungry after 10pm there are no restaurants open on a Saturday night!!

Room Tip: The parking lot does not have enough spots for all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasticman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I just returned from 4 day stay in Custer at Econo Lodge.When I checked in front desk personal was friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable the scary part came when I pulled down the sheets, they were noticeably dirty and even had hair and little dirt fragments visible how dirty they were had to wonder how many guest5 before me since they had been changed!. I was traveling alone but had double room so since it was late I chose the cleaner of two beds and went to sleep. I left note for maid to please change the sheets so she wouldn't get in trouble. When I returned that evening sheets had not been changed so I called front desk and informed them they apologized and offered to come change sheets. The next mornng spoke to head housekeeper and she assurred me the maid responsible, who was foreign and couldn't read English she said, would be talked too. I spoke also to manager she did compensate me. The tub also was lacking in cleanliness. Think they want their guest happy with clean room but need to check their maids work more closely. The shower was wonderful, breakfast was adequate, front desk very friendly, good value with great location. Just if you run into same cleanliness problem as I did notify front desk right away no use in trying to communicate with maid to save her from getting in trouble.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta,Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is in downtown Custer. we were on the second floor and had to lug our luggage up the stairs. the outside door closest to our room did not work. the only ice machine was on the first floor and the desk manager was vigilant that you could not get ice for your cooler. Breakfast was nothing special, so our second morning we went to Baker's Bakery and Cafe down the street. also Cattleman's Steak House is 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: Get a downstairs room if you can't haul your luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLfromATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.4 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 17 in Custer
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Custer

Property: Econo Lodge Custer
Address: 342 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Custer 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custer Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing