We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service lacking, amenities great”
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Custer
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
709 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Service lacking, amenities great”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The breakfast wasn't too good and was extremely crowded. There wasn't enough food put out, enough access to the room, enough chairs, enough room or food altogether! The lobby area is way too small and crowded. The receptionists are lacking in customer service and consistently seem ditsy and overwhelmed. When we first arrived the receptionist was extremely overwhelmed and explained to us that she had been there for about 16 hours because of call outs. This should never happen, the staffing here seems to be awful!

The room was normal. Clean and good enough for us. We loved that they had a nice pool, though it was too small and crowded for us to frequent. The accessibility to downtown, food, laundry and games in the basement was magnificent.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We do have a snug breakfast area. I wonder if the guest knew they could eat outside or take the breakfast meal to their room. It is unfortunate that they arrived at breakfast at the time it needed to be replenished. We do our best to keep all the items stocked for our guests. We want our guests' to have a positive, restful, and enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    63
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
63
48
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

stayed here for 4 days room was clean the bed was comfortable and shower worked well.
nice town walkable hotel was in the center of town. staff was good not great.
this is a small hotel. this means a small breakfast area,pool and outside sitting area.( there is a restruant 2 doors down) but at least it has these things and is close to Crazy Horse,Mt Rushmore and Custer State Park.
i have stayed in many of these small towns in the Black Hills and enjoyed this stay in the town of Custer. this is a great vacation area hope you enjoy it as much as i do. cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: no elevator at this hotel and washer and dryer is in the lower level in case you have a problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We appreciate your comments about our motel. Custer is a great place to vacation! Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennslyvania
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We chose this hotel based upon location.to attractions and Custer State Park. We had made the reservation last December at a low cost. In Feb. we had to shorten our stay by a day and our room price increases by $30 a day. The staff was able to resolve the matter. The hotel is very clean and town is walkable. I also had difficulty connecting to Wi-Fi and a staff member took care of it. Great place to stay when in the are.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsosci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
We do our best to offer friendly and helpful service to all our guests. Thanks so much for your kind words. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This motel was clean and quiet. The furniture looked new and was charmingly rustic to go with the area's cowboy theme. The shower was terrific. Staff members are very nice. The motel is very close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and other activities. This is a great place to stay at a great price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jos2000, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to comment on our motel. Our furniture is brand new--aspen and alder. We're glad you liked it. We want all our guests to feel special and enjoy their stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our visit to Mount Rushmore. After a nights camp in badlands, more than the room,we were extremely happy to get a room with extremely clean and spacious bathroom. The rooms didn't have microwaves though but the staff was kind enough to let us use the kitchen microwave to heat our packed dinner.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
36dodge, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel. We are glad that the accomodations were up to your expectations. Glad that we were able to accomodate you with a microvawe. Hope you think of us again, the next time you are in Custer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The rooms were newer feeling and clean. Beds are comfortable and the hallways were quite even on the busy holiday weekend. The classic continental breakfast was spare but would do for fast in and out with cereal and donuts. The pool was a real letdown.. very tiny and dirty.

Room Tip: Good place for a good nights sleep.. bad place if you need a decent pool for kids or yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcwifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jos2000, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Our pool is cleaned and maintained DAILY. I am sorry the guest did not feel it was up to their standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Labor Day. The Continental Breakfast was very good but the room was a little small to eat it in. We would stay there again. Very reasonable price in downtown Custer. If you are hungry after 10pm there are no restaurants open on a Saturday night!!

Room Tip: The parking lot does not have enough spots for all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasticman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.4 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 17 in Custer
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Custer

Property: Econo Lodge Custer
Address: 342 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Custer 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custer Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing