We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have arrived @ Mount Rushmore!”
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Custer
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Old VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“We have arrived @ Mount Rushmore!”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

What a pleasant greeting! We entered Econo Lodge Custer and were met by the nicest, friendliest lady I have ever met :-) Wish I could remember her name ~ that dear lady had cookies in the oven, told us to please come back in a few minutes to enjoy one! What a country! She checked us in, offered any assistance . . .

We could have chosen Custer or Keystone as a base of operations for our trip to Mount Rushmore. I am happy with our choice.

The cookies were delicious! Next morning, breakfast was good.

Mount Rushmore was a once-in-a-lifetime visit. Make sure you see it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1oldseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    59
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
59
46
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

A friend and I liked this well enough to make it our base for sightseeing in the Black Hills. It appears that Choice Hotels has bought some old places (this was a Travelodge) and renovated them successfully. We paid $105/night for two queen size beds and had plenty of room to stretch out and watch tv after a day of hiking. We had a room facing the parking lot and main street of Custer but slept fine even with an open window . We never used the a/c. Very friendly and competent staff and good breakfast in cramped dining area, with complimentary chocolate chip cookies provided in the afternoons and evenings. The wif-fi wasn't working when we arrived and was fixed by the 3rd night, a bit of an inconvenience. Like others I noticed a faint musty smell when I entered the room but my nose quickly adjusted and it wasn't a bother. More sensitive folks might find this a reason to go elsewhere, but I would still recommend the place with this one caveat. Custer is definitely the town to stay in if you're viewing Rushmore and Crazy Horse and want a reasonably priced place to stay. It has many choices besides chain motels like this one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dberthold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon,SK Canada
Level Contributor
433 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This was a 1 1/2 star place and if you expect anything more you will be sadly disappointed. The AC was cold but noisy. Beds lumpy. The hotel had a fresh coat of paint and minor updates to the bathroom but still the same 70's fixtures. This place really neads a total overhaul. I got gouged $119 on short notice when stuff started to fill up. It was definately only a place to hang my hat for one night and if i HAD been more prepared I wouldnt have stayed here for what I paid.

There was a small indoor pool that we didnt use. Complimentary continental breakfast with toaster waffles and toaster pancakes, mini muffins some fruit, instant oatmeal toast. Nothing fancy but enough to get something in you to make it to lunch. The breakfast room was cramped and not enough tables. It was however replenished rapidly and clean so thats a good sign. Staff were friendly. If youre a gambler with low standards, roll the dice and it might suit your needs, but if you want a bit more polish pass on this one. OH YA wireless internet in the roms was down (why didnt that supprise me). They had an old clunker in the lobby you could get on to check you email that looked like it ran windows 98. Got the job done though.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowpoint
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Although this hotel was listed on trip advisor by several others before we went, we were not of the same opinion. This hotel was clean and centrally located. The bath was extremely small. Staff was very helpful. Pool looked small but nice. If you are looking for a one night stay I would certainly recommend it. We stayed three nights. There are larger hotels in town, but not as close to the downtown. I don't consider this a problem.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LowpointKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Point
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

After camping plans fell through, we needed lodging in a hurry, with no advance reservations. Unfortunately, the weekend we came was a busy one in the area, with the annual Crazy Horse Volksmarch on tap. Because of the demand, the Econo Lodge did not offer/accept our AARP discount; it's possible on a different weekend the cost would have been less. The desk clerks were very nice and tried hard to be helpful but were also a bit disorganized, and it took several minutes to see the room and check in. The room was OK, but there was no microwave or fridge; usually we find these amenities in Econo Lodges in which we have stayed before. The beds were a little soft. The first night, we shared the hotel with dozens of children there for the Volksmarch, and it was extremely noisy, even after we called the Front Desk to complain. (The second night was nice and quiet.) In summary, the hotel was adequate for our needs, but it seemed a bit pricy for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ********
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This hotel was pretty good. They had breakfast in the morning, indoor pool, and a friendly staff. Be sure to make reservations a head of time. We went right before Bike week and it got full pretty quick.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Airborne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

First thing, know that thecheck out time for this hotel is 10am. This is much too early, in my opinion. But, that isn't that huge an issue. This hotel is located in a wonderful location. The city of Custer is very charming. Behind the hotel there were deer eating grass by the RV lot every night, a nice treat for an L. A. Metro dweller. The rooms are old. The hotel is old. No other way to put it. It isn't bad, just old. I had a whirlpool room, and it was a nice big whirlpool, so that is nice. The window opened, which is a plus, but the town is a little noisy until late. Overall, I am sure that there is better choices in this town, but Custer is ideally located to see all of the wonderful things that are West SD. If you can't afford the other overpriced hotels, then this overpriced hotel will do just fine.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharmarep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.4 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
240 reviews
12.2 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Custer

Property: Econo Lodge Custer
Address: 342 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Custer 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custer Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing