We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting motel”
Review of Dakota Cowboy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nites while touring the neighboring attractions in the custer area. The motel was clean and enjoyed the daily breakfast. The front desk people were hard to find at times. The wifi was spotty and kept going out if you did not stay in front of the window. Overall a good place to have as a home base for exploring.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrw1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DakotaCowboyInn, General Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

I would like to personally thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to the Black Hills. We work hard to keep our rooms and property clean for our guests. We appreciate feedback and we will work on making sure there is a front desk attendant to answer all guest questions and concerns. I have contacted our technical support and they will be improving the spotty internet connection. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

The place offered good value. Our room was huge, we had a fridge and a microwave (and free WiFi), breakfast was included and offered a nice selection of different food. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The place had a unique charm. At first look, the place looked somehow odd: The small pool surrounded with stuff that I couldn't quite place. When we stayed there and walked around, I got it. There were swings and balls to play with for the kids and even a slide to the pool! In other words: What looked odd at first was a wonderful idea to make the place more friendly for kids, families and just everyone. I prefer this over great looks any time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP9669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The employees are very friendly.
The breakfast had something for everyone. The biscuits and gravy were great. The people who stayed there were friendly and it was like having breakfast with a big family.
The room we stayed in was next door to the building shown on the picture. It was freshly painted and carpeted. However members of our group could not stop sneezing when we were in the room.
FYI the map shows it on the wrong side of the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

After seeing Mt Rushmore, Needles Highway, Custer park, Crazy horse, it was good to stop and found the place a good night rest. Though it was a little pricey compared to other cities on our trip, I suppose the tourist season is the only time they really make their money.
Our problem occurred with getting reservations. I made the original reservation in March. Called to check if all was in order near the end of June. They had no record of any reservation. Tried to make new but they said they would trying to find the other. Well 3 days later at 11:15pm Michigan time they called to say they found them. Well I was displeased to be awakened at that time. They reservation system they use must improve.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opa1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

this is a very good bargain without giving in..it was very clean,nice and spacious, with a fridge,microwave and a table to sit at..nice decor..wood and a lot of it..very nice area and safe
area, it rained most of the night and we never heard a thing..nice

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONNAW20010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very good place to stay. We were very satisfied with our stay, Our room was very clean, The beds were okay. The staff was very friendly, It would be a good place to stay if you have a family, pool, swings, games to play. Never had the breakfast, they were out of food but they were making more. Went next door to the Cowboy Café, very friendly and the food was good. If we come back next year we would stay again.

Room Tip: It was great to just sit outside and enjoy the weather right outside our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50168l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were getting into Custer late in the evening, and leaving first thing in the morning, so I didn't want to spend a lot of money on a room. This isn't a luxury hotel, but it was fine for the night. The room was clean and had a mini fridge. All of the rooms face outside, so we did have to climb stairs to get to our 2nd floor room. Throughout the night, I could hear the passing cars on the in front of the hotel. The beds were not the greatest. I did not find either of them in our room comfortable at all. In the morning, they hotel had a decent continental breakfast (eggs, waffles, biscuits and gravy, fruit, cereal, juices). The staff was very polite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lil_brown_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
3.9 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Cowboy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Cowboy Inn

Address: 208 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1800 (Formerly Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Price Range: £48 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dakota Cowboy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dakota Cowboy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Hotel Custer
Americas Best Value Inns Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing