We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location with a great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location with a great staff”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had made reservations at the Bavarian Inn for the second half of our Black Hills trip after reading several positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Imagine my surprise to see the new owners featured in a local TV commercial for a bank concerning their loan experience. The new owners have been working on refurbishing the place - our room had already been redone. The rooms have unusual French doors with built-in Levelor-type blinds. Be aware that that means the rooms will light up somewhat with the morning sun. Each room has a small table with 2 chairs; we watched a storm roll in one evening with a cup of coffee in our hands. The only drawback was the rather firm mattress - not quite up to the level of our 2 previous Holiday Inn hotels.
The staff are friendly and willing to give hints about local attractions, roads and eating establishments. There are two pools - one indoor and one outdoor - and a tennis court. Also a laundry and a restaurant next door. Breakfast in the morning features cereal, yogurt, frozen fruit mix and waffle irons. The main improvements to breakfast would be bread and a toaster and real coffee - Douwe Egbert machine coffee is not real. (I went back to the room and brewed another cup in the coffeemaker provided in the room - which also had a microwave and fridge.
There is no elevator, so ask for 1st floor if you have mobility problems. There are three buildings - 2 face the office/pool/breakfast room and the back building overlooks the outdoor pool and tennis court.
After spending time in Keystone, Hill City (where we stayed a night) and Custer, Custer is the best of the three for using as a home base. The shops seem a little less schlocky, there are more "real" restaurants, a nice brewpub, and Crazy Horse is a short drive and Custer State Park is just down the road the other way.
The Bavarian Inn is a great place to stay while seeing this area.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so ask for a first floor room if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsnelsonplays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We sincerely appreciate your review titled "Good Location with a Great Staff” Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate the comments and suggestions and will take them into consideration as we move forward. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    129
    54
    6
    4
See reviews for
188
157
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Every staff member I talked to was so nice and went the extra mile to be helpful. The rooms were a little outdated, but ours was very clean and large. We had a fridge and microwave which is always nice. There was a nice pool area with a small hot tub. When I checked in I was offered a cookie and some milk, which hit the spot after our busy day. Breakfast consisted of small pastries, mixed fruit, waffles (make your own) and yogurt. The location is great - only a short distance to many activities and attractions. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Bavarian Inn. I'm happy to hear you arrived during our daily Cookie Time. We appreacite your business and your kind words and look forward to serving you again.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmetsburg, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is just on the edge of town, which was nice. It was very clean, quiet, and the outside pool and tennis courts were very nice. We enjoyed the small fitness trail beyond the courts. I would recommend bringing your own tennis equipment, as the equipment at the hotel is in poor condition. Compared to the Washington Inn of Keystone, this was a dream and well worth the price. Beds were a little too firm and the continental breakfast was not worth getting up incredibly early for. The eating area for breakfast was the front lobby and seated about 18 people and was too full to be comfortable in. Staff was very friendly and the overall appearance of the rooms and the hotel was quaint. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Double deluxe room was worth the extra $40 for kitchen and pull out sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so happy to hear that the Bavarian Inn was worth the money spent. We very much appreciate your business. Thank you for the detailed review. We have just ordered new tennis rackets for our guests to enjoy. I appreciate the recommendation. We are also continuing to improve on expanding our breakfast space. You are correct the lobby area is a little tight. We encourage guests to enjoy the outdoors during breakfast. Most rooms have either bistro sets or chairs and small tables in front of their rooms. We also have many areas throughout the picturesque property that would be lovely for a healthy morning bite. We look forward to your return.

Marcel and Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
284 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Slightly dated motel, but rooms were clean and spacious. Pet friendly, hot tub, pool and pool table! Breakfast could use a little improvement...breakfast doesn't start until 7:00a and there was a line of guests waiting to get into the locked breakfast area. Breakfast consisted of make your own waffles, frozen (versus fresh) fruit, cereal, mini muffins, yogurt and juice. Conveniently located to Custer State Park and Crazy Horse. About 20 miles (30 minutes) away from Mt. Rushmore.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Bavarian Inn. I am happy to here you found your room clean and spacious. We appreacite the comments about the hours for the free breakfast offering. We will take that under advisment. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to serve you again.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Pros: Large rooms, large laundry area (with free soap), inside/outside pools, tennis court and access to walking trail.
Cons: If one pays extra for a dog, shouldn't you be able to go into a clean room? My socks were dark every night. Too light: they just had venetian blinds and the street lights shined in all night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the french doors if you need a dark room. There is a German restaurant on si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Never-Lost4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We really appreciate your thorough review of our property. You are correct, you should expect a clean carpet whether you have a pet or not, I apologize that this was not your experience. Thank you for letting us know. We will take your feedback about the venation blinds into consideration as we move into our remodel phase this coming fall/winter. Thank you for mentioning all of the things you loved about the Bavarian Inn as well. We hope to see you and your 4 legged friend again soon.

Sincerely,
Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff was very nice, and you can tell they have spend time and money updating the exterior of the Inn and grounds. The interior of our room was also clean and tidy for the most part. The furnishings were quite dated but free of spots/stains. The towels were sooo soft! The bathtub had mold, and I waited to shower until we arrived at our next hotel. All of this would have earned a higher rating from me had we not paid $130/night to stay here. I realize we chose the most expensive time of year, but I was hoping for a more updated room (and mold free bathtub) for that price.

The kids really enjoyed the pools (indoor and outdoor), and the continental breakfast was pleasant. Also, the Inn is located far enough away from Custer that we drove into town instead of choosing to walk. The upside to the distance from town was that the Inn was very quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have blackout curtains, so 1st Floor rooms light up when cars arrive/leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iToqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your business and time in writing this review. I would like to apologize for the mold issue you encountered. This is a concern that we were unaware of. We will be doing a close inspection of each room and will correct any issues so others are not disappointed. We appreciate your kind words about our service and cleanliness. We will be sure to pass them along to the team. Please consider giving us another chance as our upgrades to the rooms are ongoing.

Sincerely,

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

While the hosts are great, the people friendly, the room clean, the beds comfortable, the room quiet, one of the best features of the Bavarian is its location to major attractions in the area. The price was excellent (we were there when it was still cold, snow still evident on the hills, prior to main tourist season). We were there for nearly a week, and this hotel contributed greatly to our enjoyable vacation. The only minor issue we ever had was with the heater: it heated a bit too well. Though they have many amenities such as a pool, we were so busy that we never tried any of them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Wow, thank you for the wonderful review of the Bavarian Inn. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and all that the beautiful Black Hills has to offer. It was a pleasure to serve you. We hope to see you again soon.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
11.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
12.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
12.0 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn, Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn, Black Hills

Property: Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Address: 855 N 5th St, Custer, SD 57730-8212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Custer
#6 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavarian Inn, Black Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque mountain resort setting, the Bavarian Inn, Black Hills offers 64 rooms, suites, and jacuzzi rooms. Amenities include flat screen televisions with HD programming, free high speed wi-fi, indoor/outdoor heated pools, hot tub, tennis court, playground, fitness trail, on-premise laundry, daily cookie happy hour and a free pancake bar for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bavarian Inn, Black Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Inn Motel & Restaurant Hotel Custer
Bavarian Inn Motel And Restaurant
Bavarian Hotel Custer
Bavarian Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing