We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service in wonderful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful service in wonderful setting”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My wife, 4 children and I recently stayed here and I highly recommend it. The rooms are adequate and the staff and surroundings are beyond top rate. Perfectly located in the middle of the Black Hills, this acted as a great base for visiting all of the nearby attractions and beauty. The staff were fountains of knowledge for recommending the best sights, horseback services, and local highlights. We spent a day in the pool and even time on the tennis courts. My kids especially adored the giant rock that sits halfway in the lobby and halfway in the pool area. All in all, it provided great lodgings for a great family vacation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Zabronsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Your review is very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to pass along your experience. I am so happy to hear you had a wonderful vacation. We hope to see you again soon.

Marcel and Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    133
    57
    7
    4
See reviews for
204
162
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This place felt a bit like camping, but it was great! Nice room, kind staff, two pools, breakfast! If you are a typical family, you can't go wrong by staying here!

There is also a cookie happy hour at 3:30 until 4:30!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stacci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We loved your review about the Bavarian Inn. Thanks for mentioning our Cookie Happy Hour. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Marcel and Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, South Dakota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This locally owned property is very charming. The rooms are clean and quiet but a bit dated. The friendly staff more than makes up for this though. There is a nice indoor pool, whirlpool, and gameroom in the motel office adv cross the parking lot from the rooms. A restaurant featuring German food is adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PineappleProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We love how you describe the Bavarian Inn. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Marcel and Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The best on-site owner we've ever encountered in all our travels. Marcel's helpfulness and enthusiasm are tops, and the staff follows suit. We appreciated the location -- a little off the beaten path but still near enough to the major attractions and good dining options in Custer. There are some nice extras here like heated pools inside and out and a tennis court, and all is in good, working order. There are even all the in-room appliances: coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave, hair blower. But nothing fancy here in furnishings, the breakfast situation is quite crowded, and the standard room might be a bit tight for the over-sized tourist.

Room Tip: There are larger suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your business and your time in writing a review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. I apologize if your room felt a little small. We have many room types available ranging from a Cozy Queen with 1 bed to a 2 rooms suite for families. On your next visit, try one of our spacious rooms in the Deluxe Building. I feel confident you will appreciate how roomy they are.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What the other folks said. It's a fine motel, good beds, comfortable rooms, excellent service from start to finish. It does face the highway, but that was no problem. Traffic is very low during the night, we slept with our window open and weren't disturbed any of the three nights. Our bed was comfortable with good bedding. Lots of good towels. The interior needs some upgrading (overhead 2x4 fluorescent lay-in lights) but nothing awful. The breakfast needs some work. The area is newly spiffed up with nice new furniture. The desk person is trying to keep up the breakfast area, and handle all checkouts and other things that happen in the morning--and just can't handle it. As a result the food was continually running out, the serving line was an unsightly mess. It needs to be better staffed. The mixed fruit is excellent but the food available is all sugar or flour, no protein of any kind is served. While it tastes good while going down, it doesn't last. After the first day, we ate elsewhere.

All in all, a good stay, a good value, and we'll stop again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, and found that there was very little traffic past our door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for staying at the Bavarian Inn and giving us such a high rating. We really appreciate your business. Your detailed review is helpful as we are always trying to improve. We will certainly take your feedback about breakfast to heart and will move towards implementing some of your suggestions very soon. We do have plans to remodel many of guest rooms this winter so your comments are valuable in the planning phase. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Bavarian Inn in Custer, South Dakota for our summer family vacation. One of the very best parts of the vacation was our stay at this hotel! The kids loved swimming in the two pools, and playing in the game room and tennis courts. The staff is so attentive and friendly. The local owners are hands on and you can tell they have many years of experience in the hospitality industry, as they attend to your every need practically before you ask! We would HIGHLY recommend anyone going to the Black Hills to stay at the Bavarian Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Your review made our day. Thank you. It is our goal to enhance you Black Hills vacation, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Bavarian Inn. But more importantly, thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a room with a king, a second with 2 queens. Both rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. A/C worked great. Microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker in the rooms all worked, clean and no ice blocks. Minor issue that the outdoor 'heated' pool was not so warm and after a second morning where the coffee in the breakfast room ran out, as well as the waffles, we gave up and had a nice breakfast in town at Baker's Bakery & Cafe (which I also recommend!) Mixed reviews from the family on dinner at the hotel restaurant, but it was close by. Location to Custer State Park and Crazy Horse was good. Friendly staff.
Hope to some day return to such a beautiful area for more hiking, and if we do, we will stay here.

Room Tip: We were on the end, second floor so that might account for everything being quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen4kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I want to personally apologize for running out of coffee and waffles at the morning buffet. It does take a few minutes to refill the machines and I apologize if it took too long. Thank you for letting me know, I will make sure to pass this along to the breakfast attendant. Our outdoor pool is heated to 83 degrees. Depending on the air temperature outside, that may feel a little cool. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to serve you again.

Thank You,

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
11.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
30 reviews
12.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#3 of 17 in Custer
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn, Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn, Black Hills

Property: Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Address: 855 N 5th St, Custer, SD 57730-8212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Custer
#6 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavarian Inn, Black Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque mountain resort setting, the Bavarian Inn, Black Hills offers 64 rooms, suites, and jacuzzi rooms. Amenities include flat screen televisions with HD programming, free high speed wi-fi, indoor/outdoor heated pools, hot tub, tennis court, playground, fitness trail, on-premise laundry, daily cookie happy hour and a free pancake bar for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bavarian Inn, Black Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Inn Motel & Restaurant Hotel Custer
Bavarian Inn Motel And Restaurant
Bavarian Hotel Custer
Bavarian Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing