We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Bavarian Inn is fabulous for three reasons: the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the breakfast is excellent, and the new owners, Sherry and Marcel, are extremely knowledgeable and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for your business. We appreciate your fabulous review about the Bavarian Inn. We hope to see you again soon.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Bavarian Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This review is really from June 2007. My family and I came out to see all the tourists traps and enjoyed all of it. We liked the room and the pool, which has a retro feel, plus sauna. Felt very family owned which was nice. Good food but our waiter was very stoned and forgot our bread, which we found very entertaining and still talk about it to this day. The breakfast was great. If you want a real vacation feel stay here. When I head back out to deadwood I plan on staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnrichardekstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for spreading the good word. We hope you visit again soon.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Bavarian Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were supposed to camp in the Custer area and there were downpours. We drove by this hotel and went in and asked if there was vacancy. Thankfully there was. We booked one night and after staying the day booked another. The property is well located and close to town and rooms and property is clean and neat, while not cheap the rooms are a very good value. We met the owners and they were delightful. The property has 2 pools and is family friendly, We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for referring to our hotel as a "Wonderful Find." It was great having you stay with us and a pleasure to meet you as well. Thank you for your business and we hope to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for one night toward the end of our vacation in July 2014. We were in a Queen Balcony room. The place is very impressive, good value, good atmosphere, good customer service. A couple things to mention, is they maybe need to go to the card system for door locks and if your concerned about mobility, they have no elavators. They do have a great breakfast and the rooms are comfortable. They also have a German Restaurant on the premises, that we had dinner at which was good too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lives_In_SPENCER_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and your feedback. Your suggestion to move to the key card locks is certainly one we are looking into. We hope to see you again soon.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My son and I traveled to Custer for a July 4th vacation. Staying at the Bavarian Inn was definitely one of the many highlights of our trip. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Marcel, in particular, was a true gem. He went completely above and beyond our entire stay. The outdoor pool area was perfect... clean and relaxing. Everything was just right!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Franny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We loved reading your review titled "Our Best Vacation Yet." Our mission at the Bavarian Inn is to assist you in making the most of your Black Hills Vacation. Thank you for taking the time to spread the word about your experience. We really appreciate the kind words.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We enjoy Bavarian atmosphere and we found it here amongst the Black Hills. Nice room, neat Bavarian restaurant on the premises and nestled in the mountains, what's not to like?
Also a central local to almost everything!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimandlisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure serving you. We hope to see you again soon.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here with three kids. We reserved the queen deluxe room and I am glad we did. The room had extra space that we needed (big enough that there was still room even with a roll away!). There is an inside pool and hot tub as well as an outside pool. The kids loved it. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was OK....the food was just average. If you go with kids, check out other places to eat. Definitely glad we stayed here...highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We appreciate your business and your kind review. Thank you so much. Please come back and see us again soon.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
9.5 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
12 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn, Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn, Black Hills

Address: 855 N 5th St, Custer, SD 57730-8212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Custer
#6 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range: £63 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavarian Inn, Black Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming family resort with modern amenities in the Black Hills of SD. Minutes from Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse and 1500 herd of Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bavarian Inn, Black Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Inn Motel And Restaurant
Bavarian Inn Motel & Restaurant Hotel Custer
Bavarian Hotel Custer
Bavarian Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing