We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Guess this place has new owners and they are making changes. The staff seems to be really nice and helpful. The pools are nice but if you have young children that can't swim, bring a life jacket because there really isn't a large shallow area. 3 out of 4 clothes dryers were broken which was annoying but the staff were wonderful and dried my clothes. Really nice place, beds nice, shower nice, mini fridge and microwave in room. We saw lots of deer crossing the road and a flock of turkey right in front of the office area. I would defiantly stay here again and would like to see what the new owners do to this place.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank critttergittter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bavarian Inn. We appreciate your business and your review. I would like to personally apologize for your frustration with our guest laundry. It is our goal to have everything in working order and ready for you. We are currently seeking bids to upgrade all of our guest washers and dryers. I can assure you that this is being addressed. We look forward to seeing you again.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Bavarian Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    129
    54
    6
    4
See reviews for
187
157
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed here three times in the past ten years. We go out of our way to stay at THIS Inn. The original owners who we grew to love sold it after 38 years a few months ago. The new owners haven't had time to put their stamp on it yet but I have some suggestions: Keep the atmosphere, the beauty of the surroundings, the caring staff. Update the rooms, the air conditioning, the interior lighting and the number of outlets (we all have too many electronic things these days and need more outlets). Add some protein to the breakfast. Keep the onsite restaurant. The apple strudel with ice cream is to die for. The prices there are fair and the food good & not over priced.

Room Tip: This is a classic old world hotel in the Black Hills of South Dakota. They have a great rep. but hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We really appreciate your business and hope that you noticed all the landscaping updates that have been done this season. As the new owners, it is such a pleasure to meet returning guests. As we move into the winter season, we look forward to continuing to upgrade the property. Please don't worry; we have grand plans for the food and beverages operations of the Bavarian Inn.

Your feedback is so valuable. We hope to see you in 2015.

Sincerly,

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Bavarian Inn Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I was last at the Bavarian in May for an unbelievably fantastic wedding. I loved it so much my husband surprised me with a family birthday trip back to to this magical place! This time we stayed in the 2 room suite. It has everything you could ever need. Clean, spacious and flat out perfect for families or friends to stay together, but still have privacy and room to hang out. Full kitchen, big TVs and a large vanity area and of course a full bathroom with the little rubber Bavarian Inn Duck!

After we got settled into our Suite my family and I went down for cookie hour. My husband and brother in law are pretty large fellows and they turned into happy little boy mode for Cookie Happy Hour. They were polite and had their cookie and glass of milk while enjoying the company of the Front Desk ladies and scoping out the breakfast nook and making their plans for their morning feast!

After returning from our nature walk on the Fitness Trail (which is nestled away just behind the Inn) we found a lovely surprise waiting on the kitchen table... Bless the hotel staffs heart they had put fresh baked cookies in our room. I am in awe of how they noticed on such a small encounter, during a very busy time for them, of how special Cookie Happy Hour was to my husband and Brother in law. That is over the top making visits special and recognizing your guests.

The owners and staff at the Bavarian Inn truly do care about your stay. My family and I love this place and we will be back!

Oh and the pool... Indoor and outdoor... This place has it all!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I am so very happy to hear that you chose the Bavarian Inn to celebrate your special day. It was such a pleasure having you here. If you are ever in the area between 3:30-4:30 please stop in for Cookie Time.

Thanks for your patronage. We appreacite you.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Bavarian Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochiti Lake, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wow! We couldn't have selected a better place to stay for our Black Hills vacation. The town of Custer was centrally located for all our sight-seeing adventures and the Bavarian Inn was charming and very clean. There are 2 pools and a hot tub (one pool is indoors), tennis courts, laundryroom, wifi Internet and a quaint restaurant that serves German Food. They serve a free breakfast with standard stuff and a free "milk & cookie" snack in the afternoon. Like others have reported the staff is excellent, the rooms clean and we found the beds very comfortable. We extended our stay an extra day just to chill and enjoy amenities one day. Thanks Bavarian Inn!!

Room Tip: It is also a Pet Friendly Motel and we travel with a therapy dog who so enjoys a good motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamU389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the Bavarian Inn for your vacation. We really apprecaite your business and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Black Hills vacation.

Please visit again soon.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Bavarian Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

With no knowledge of South Dakota or places to stay near Mt. Rushmore, I searched Trip Advisor for some input. The reviews are fairly accurate. The staff is first rate . The rooms are a bit worn and the sink was in the bedroom, however we only wished we had more time there to enjoy the amenities. Two pools, one indoor, and plenty of other offerings for adventure. Just down the road is a great town for food and shopping. Of course Mt. Rushmore was in its glory on this crystal clear day. If you are looking for a taste of SD without the high cost , stay here. If you are searching for glamorous accommodations, move on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osborner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Bavarian Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Bavarian is an adorable locally run vintage motel in Custer. If you like the feel of a generic corporate run AmericINN style motel- don't stay here, this place is not for you. If you like a place that is more unique, has charm and character- where the owner is on-site making sure everything is up to his standards- than this is your spot.
Our family was making a Griswaldian road trip across the US this summer and stopped for a night in Custer so we could day trip it to all of the sites the Black Hills has to offer. A friend (knowing my love for anything mid-century) suggested the Bavarian. Our room was what you would expect from a motel- it was clean and had a fridge and a microwave, flat screen tv and a cute little rubber ducky in the bathtub that my toddler carried around all day.
It is the extra little details that I really loved- they have a separate building with a large recreation area- pool, hot tub, tables, pool table it was a pleasant surprise! The building also housed the free breakfast- make your own waffles (which my kids loved) mini doughnuts and muffins, granola, juices, yogurt, fruit, cereal etc. There was also an outdoor pool (2 pools!), a swing set and the grounds were just lovely- lots of flowers and well maintained. The Bavarian is located right off on of the main roads that takes you into the town of Custer but the rooms are set back on the property and they've done a great job with landscaping so you can't even see the road from your room.
I was told that the Bavarian has some new owners and they are clearly doing a major over-haul and are updating a lot of the decor. The building that houses the pool and breakfast area looked to have been recently furnished with very cool sleek Ikea furniture and fixtures- there was a HUGE boulder that the building was clearly built around that was a really cool design detail (and something that kids clearly love).
We did not eat at the restaurant on site I was told that the new owners do not currently own the restaurant on site but were planning on purchasing it which will make the restaurant feel more like a part of the Inn. (we did however eat at the Black Hills Burger and Bun which we highly recommend)

We liked our stay so much that we attempted to stay again on our way back home- but sadly (not surprisingly) they were full. We loved the Black Hills area quite a bit and will definitely be returning to the Bavarian when we stop again!

Room Tip: we has a 2nd story room- nice to not have someone walking pup above but might be challenging for pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We really enjoyed reading your very detailed review of the Bavarian Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Bavarian Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our family of 5 stayed (3 teenage boys) thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My only regret is that it was only 3 days and 2 nights. The location was perfect for getting everywhere we wanted to go, including Custer State Park, Mt Rushmore and even Devils Tower. Highly recommend this as a starting point. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Yes, breakfast line was long- so what. We would wait for it to shorten and go back. Also enjoyed being able to relax at a small table outside our room and the outdoor heated pool was perfect in July. Wallpaper in the bathroom had a small tear, but again, so what. Beds were comfortable and suite room was big enough and was quiet even though ours faced the highway. Being able to sit at a table outside the room was also great. We would definitely stay here again. You can't go wrong for a convenient, economical place on vacation.

Room Tip: Queen suites are large, have 2 queen beds with a sleeper sofa and 2 chairs with a small table on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onyx2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry B, Owner at Bavarian Inn, Black Hills, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your vacation at the Bavarian Inn. We really appreciate your business and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Marcel & Sherry Wahlstrom
Bavarian Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
11.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
12.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
12.0 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn, Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn, Black Hills

Property: Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Address: 855 N 5th St, Custer, SD 57730-8212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Custer
#6 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavarian Inn, Black Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a picturesque mountain resort setting, the Bavarian Inn, Black Hills offers 64 rooms, suites, and jacuzzi rooms. Amenities include flat screen televisions with HD programming, free high speed wi-fi, indoor/outdoor heated pools, hot tub, tennis court, playground, fitness trail, on-premise laundry, daily cookie happy hour and a free pancake bar for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bavarian Inn, Black Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Inn Motel & Restaurant Hotel Custer
Bavarian Inn Motel And Restaurant
Bavarian Hotel Custer
Bavarian Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing