We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Chalet Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Motel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Sat outside and visited people. Small, clean rooms. Nice for a night. Lovely atmosphere. The history of it is very interesting. Lots of restaurants easily accessible on foot or short drive.

Really enjoyed it and I'm a Diamond member with a national hotel chain.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at The Chalet Motel for two nights. With a family of four it was a little tight, but the cabin was bright and cheerful, and clean. Loved the quilts on the beds! The wifi was fast and strong. Our cabin did not have a coffee maker, microwave or refrigerator, which surprised me, but we really didn't need them so it worked out ok. If these things are important be sure to confirm that your cabin has them. They must have different layouts/amenities in different cabins. The owners are the nicest people! We're glad we stayed here and would stay again if in the area for a short visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the property are protected from the very bright morning sun. Rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A group of us visit the Black Hills every year.
I found Chalet Motel on trip advisor. I couldn't be happier with everything at Chalet Motel.
The price is very affordable, the rooms are with microwave,fridge and coffee.
We had a small kitchen in ours which made it very nice for breakfast in the morning before riding.
The area outside the rooms made it great for pulling up chairs and hanging out.
Grocery store. shopping, restaurants and a gas station that offers a few casino machines within walking distance.
Short ride to Crazy Horse, Mt. Rushmore, Custer State park.
Vern and Karen ( owners ) are awesome people and go out of their way to make you feel very welcome.
Our group decided this is where we will be staying as our base for our yearly family gathering.
I am so happy I found this on trip advisor!
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anelson60126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were lucky enough to find this gem of a motel in the middle of the Black Hills. The owners, Karen and Vernon were on site, hard working and very friendly.We were there during bike week-every morning, there were towels on our bikes, bike friendly towels delivered every afternoon. Most of the folks staying were bikers..one very nice group of folks. The rooms were small and cozy, bed was comfortable, flat screen television and very clean. We have already made our reservations for next year and will continue to return yearly as long as we are able. We have stayed in several different hotels in Custer; this was by far, the best and most friendly! In addition, probably the only hotel/motel that does not raise prices during "special" events. Whenever we return to Custer, we now have a home!Thanks Karen and Vernon for welcoming us your "traveling" family!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This motel was an excellent find on our roadtrip, immaculately clean and well cared for, for a great price. The room was small, but more than adequate for a solo traveller or couple - I believe we had one of the smaller rooms which we were told about ahead of time. The owners were all friendly and helpful, and the Chalet is easy walking distance to several restaurants and a grocery store.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at the Chalet. Very nice "Mom and Pop" operation run by some very nice people. Search of area hotels for 4th of July week produced outrageous prices and few vacancies. The Chalet was a great find. No complaints. Good sized rooms (small bathrooms); comfortable beds; flatscreen TV; quiet; all impeccably CLEAN. Four Circle rating, rather than 5 is primarily due to absence of fridg and coffee maker in our room. Otherwise, we (and our friends in the adjoining cabin) had no complaints. The location is excellent, and Vern's recommendation of the place the locals go for breakfast was a big plus. "Our Place" just a few blocks down the road had a very broad breakfast menu, incredibly low prices, great service, and wonderful people watching. We went there every day for our 5 day stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. The motel is run by a family who obviously take pride in what they do. Very clean. Short walk of five minutes and you are in the middle of town. For staying in Custer and seeing the black hills I could not imagine a better value. And after calling every motel and hotel in the area there is nothing to compare to a clean room and pleasant service at these rates.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RBlais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Custer hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
4.8 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 17 in Custer
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.6 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chief Motel
Chief Motel
#9 of 17 in Custer
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Motel

Property: Chalet Motel
Address: 933 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1727
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Number of rooms: 65

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing