We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DAKOTA DREAMING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Custer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DAKOTA DREAMING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

On a trip that included the Sturgis Bike Rally, hubby and I had the opportunity to stay at the 'Dakota Dream Bed and Breakfast' in Custer, South Dakota. Ernie and Kathy, the proprietors, have an awesome home setting for a bed and breakfast. The room we stayed in 'Bears Den' had a very comfortable queen size bed with top quality linens and pillows. The breakfasts were served in a setting where we were able to look out onto the property and see wildlife (whitetail deer, birds, etc.) They have wireless internet access with a computer for the guests use, satellite television, books, and comfy couches and chairs for guests in the common area. We were very happy with the set up and will definitely go back. The location is very close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and a little further to Devil's Tower National monument.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatMow, Owner at Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Dakota Dream! It was a lot of fun hearing about your ranch and the associated stories at breakfast! Hope to see y'all next Rally!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South of the City
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Our overnight stay at Dakota dream was very pleasant. The owners, Kathy and Ernie, had a B&B in Pennsylvania but had travled many times to South Dakota. Even though they have only been there less than a year, you know that they will succeed because of the efforts they have made to their space makes it a welcoming place to stay. The breakfast was simple but delicious and the setting where you can see the wildlife and grounds was idyllic. We only wished we had more time to spend in the area. We did, however, spend some time in Custer State Park based on the owners' recommendation. We found the drive on the Needles Highway captivating.

Room Tip: Follow owners direction to get there. GPS could not find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jaq434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a great stay at the dakota dream.We were there for four nights and enjoyed every minute of it.The area is beautiful and the wild life was great. As for the hosts, they are the nicest people that you could ever meet. The room was perfect. The common area was great with internet and a nice tv.Coffee and tea every morning and the frig always had cold bottled water.
GREAT PLACE

Room Tip: Don't miss this woundeful bandb when in the area of Custer South Dekota
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ted b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatMow, Owner at Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Ted, thank you for such a positive review of Dakota Dream. It was a pleasure to have you folks stay with us, and we're glad you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Dakota Dream was wonderful. The bed was comfortable, the atmosphere peaceful, the breakfast good. Cathy and Ernie were excellent hosts. I would really like to return someday when there is more time.

Room Tip: Everything was wonderful. Cathy and Ernie were excellent hosts and I hope to visit again someday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karenniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Dakota Dream B&B in early June, 2013. Kathy and Ernie have a lovely home and they’re the ultimate B&B hosts - sincerely welcoming and accommodating.

From the moment of our arrival and throughout our stay, we felt appreciated, relaxed and very much at ease. The B&B is located in a quiet, residential area on the edge of Custer, where many homes have a number of acres surrounding them.

Since our trip was early in the tourist season, we were the only guests at the time and had the lower floor of the house to ourselves. In the large common area, we were offered the use of a small frig, hot water pot, and lots of comfortable seating (along with several other amenities). And most importantly, there was plenty of before-breakfast hot coffee available (upon request).

Kathy is a great cook - her breakfasts were delicious, varied, healthy and served right from the skillet or oven. And, we were well entertained by a small herd of deer in the yard during both breakfasts.

The internet (with password) worked well in our room and a number of outlets were available for re-charging gadgets. We had a very comfy bed; there is plenty of hot water and good pressure; lots of closet space, flat surfaces and the home has wood interiors throughout. It is decorated somewhat in the style of a hunting lodge with a nice balance of hand made quilts and other softer touches!

We have stayed at B&Bs in many states and countries and we would recommend the Dakota Dream to experienced travelers as well as to anyone just wanting to see what a B&B stay is all about.

To top it off, the weather was perfect for our visit - Ernie and Kathy are truly are the ultimate B&B hosts!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
407 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent 3 nights as guests of Kathy & Ernie. We were in the Black Hills room that has a private bath across the hallway. The room was very comfortable – the bed slept great. It was not a problem for us, but the room has no TV. There is a large common area that has a TV & a computer that was very comfortable. Hot tea & coffee was available early each morning in the common room. Breakfast was varied each morning and tasty each time. Kathy happily accommodated our (and another couple’s) gluten-free diet request. One day when we took an afternoon nap we noticed that the room’s curtains did a great job darkening the room. It was a real pleasure sharing travel & other stories each morning with Kathy & Ernie. They truly made us feel welcome. It was a nice bonus that they offered us a pass to Custer State Park which saved us a few bucks. I should also mention that it is quiet & secluded yet only 5-7 minutes to Custer which made it very convenient. We saw deer and wild turkeys from the dining room each morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKgrandej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had never been to the Black Hills area and chose the town of Custer for a two night stay. We wanted local advice and the Dakota Dream B&B fit our needs. We were very satisfied with this choice and would certainly stay here again. Be sure to stay here if you have horses as they have quite a nice arrangement for boarding (not that I know horses!). This is a new B&B, a former large house remade and being improved for B&B services by a couple with ten years of B&B experience, so we were well accommodated. We stayed in the Bear’s Den room that includes a private bath. All areas were clean and welcoming. The bed was comfortable, there were plenty of electric outlets for equipment recharging and the WiFi worked fine in our room. There is a shared commons area with a shared refrigerator. Both a generous, tasty hot breakfast is provided (includes local cuisine), and coffee is set out early in the commons area. There is also a variety of teas with the hosts happy to meet your desires. As expected, the morning conversation included some great guidance on the local attractions, where to eat, and where the local visitor center is. Both mornings we enjoyed watching the local group of deer wander up to the back deck as we ate breakfast. Be sure to note their driving directions, they are correctly on Moss Rock Lane, they post GPS coordinates, and we found GPS for their entrance (see photo) to be: 43 degrees 45’ 20”N and 103 degrees 35’ 18”W.

Room Tip: Just note whether you have a private bath or across the hall, and decide how many beds you need. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern-Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel

Property: Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel
Address: 12350 Moss Rock Ln, Custer, SD 57730-8303
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful log bed and breakfast situated on 20 serene, pine covered acres on the out skirts of Custer. Close to the Mickelson Trail and Custer State Park. B&B rooms with private baths. Full breakfast served. Horses welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing