We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Custer Crazy Horse Campground
Ranked #22 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
282 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The worst water pressure I've had at a campground. No TV reception. Their ad in Woodall's says they have direct TV. When I asked, the answer was that they used to have it, but stopped. They will rent you a DVD for $2 that is 10 or more years old. The cabin and tent area looks great, just avoid this place in an RV.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ta96silver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    6
    4
    13
See reviews for
17
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This place needs work! Wi-fi doesn't work, bathrooms and shower no heat (38 degrees). RV sites next to highway, truck noise all night. Park in disaray. ( picknick tables in parking spaces, ect. Few garbage cans. No cable tv. Store is not well stocked. Could be beauitiful- tent and cabin areas are great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 87vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The camping area is nice and has a lot of trees. The RV part is right off the highway and noisy. The Wi-Fi is very unreliable. No direct tv as promised. The bathrooms aren't heated. Worst park we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoofreak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

stayed here end of September this is our 2nd time here as we were here last year. Love the location handy to get to everything. Our tent location was back side of campground had wonderful trees and sets back from the road so was private. The staff were very nice and yes the bathroom was old but clean could it be remodeled yes is it a deal breaker no we just love this location and will continue to come back pool was closed because of time of year wifi worked great did not use the laundry but looked like they only had one machine out of order and room was clean great place for tenters and motor homes were there also and everyone was not on top of one another

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grdenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestview Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Our stay at Custer Crazy Horse campground was FANTASTIC as the staff was VERY helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the MANY area attractions. The wide variety of sites and with flexible fee schedules we were able to tailor our costs better to our needs. They have BOTH 30/ 50 amp service and competitive rates for the upgrade options and the sites are on a very passable road we had no trouble with the sloped roads, it added to the character and rustic beauty. The restroom/shower area was very clean. The cozy pool was always available after the daily morning staff cleaning and testing. Visiting with happy campers left and right put this wonderful campground at the head of our list for next season. We have friends now we will see there next year and many after that. Few places you will visit will have this ambiance and a staff that tries very hard to accommodate any changes to your schedule and needs that might occur.

Room Tip: The cabins are camping cabins and as is standard in the industry, bring your own bedding. Our friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scappoose, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was our worst stay of our 11 day road trip. The cabin we stayed in said it slept 5 but there was so little room on one of the top bunks that you couldn't even sit up in it without hitting your head. There was no air conditioning and only one set of plug ins. The pool wasn't very nice and the staff weren't that friendly. There really was nothing great about this stay. Really wish we'd spent the extra money for the KOA nearer to Mt. Rushmore, which was gorgeous!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My family and I had an extremely frustrating experience at this campground and would not recommend it at all. I've camped in the Hills many times... there are much better and friendlier places out there.

My family needed a campground with space for a pick up camper and tent as well as a primitive cabin to accommodate my parents, sister's family and my family (husband and 14month old twins), so after searching on line this seemed like an adequate option. I called to make the reservation (versus doing it online) specifically to make sure the campground could accommodate our special situation (we wanted to be near each other and set up a tent next to the camper which is standard practice all over the Black Hills) and the staff on the phone assured me that this was a possibility.

To summarize the rest of the story, we arrived to a shabby campground with small, dated, dirty pool. The staff lady was very inflexible and unaccommodating in trying to figure out the best accommodation for our group. After discussing then arguing with the staff lady for 30 minutes, she finally agreed to allow the camper to be on a larger plot closer to the group (versus a very small spot on a steep hill that wasn't level that looked like it had never been used). If the campground had been even close to being full, I'd understand but the entire time we were there there were numerous spots on all sides of us available. Then she proceeded to charge us additional for EVERYTHING ... each person, additional vehicle, the tent spot (most campgrounds allow a tent with camper on the same spot - we've done this many times all over the country), my 14 month old twins. Yes every. single. thing. On top of that we had reserved 4 nights but only needed 3 and she was completely inflexible and unwilling to compromise (even discounting? something?) so we paid the inflated rates for an additional day that we didn't need.


To top it off, she asked my sister twice when we were going to pay when she was on her way to the shower. We hadn't even been on site for 24 hours and she was harrassing my sister (on vacation!) Please. She had the credit card number if she really thought we were going to stiff her.

So - I give this place a F on service, a D on facilities, and an A on location in terms of the southern Hills. The other thing to note is the campground is on a steep hill so getting the camper leveled on the poorly maintained lot was challenging and sitting around the firepit on lawn chairs was vitually impossible because of the 30% grade.

Again, I've camped in the Hills many times... there are much better and friendly places out there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiemPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
4.5 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing
2.2 mi away
Mystic Valley Inn
Mystic Valley Inn
#2 of 2 in Custer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chief Motel
Chief Motel
#9 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Custer Crazy Horse Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custer Crazy Horse Campground

Property: Custer Crazy Horse Campground
Address: 1116 N 5th St, Custer, SD 57730-8213
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Custer Crazy Horse Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Custer Crazy Horse Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing