We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. I'll come back here.”
Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chief Motel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Went to Custer for a quick end-of-summer get-away with my grandson before giving him back to his parents and school. Didn't realize I'd picked the middle of the great "Sturgess motorcycle rally" and the Chief had one of the last rooms available in town. Was expecting to be disappointed, but very pleasantly surprised. The office staff (both evening and morning) were very cordial; we were greeted with an area map and the desk clerk listed family activities that we might enjoy. The room was very clean, had new carpeting, paint and furniture, the bath was updated. The pool was great, the jaccuzzi was dated, cracked and repaired many times, but the water was sparkling clean. This is an older place, family owned, that has been cared for and maintained. I won't hesitate to book here again next time.

Room Tip: Traffic noise from the thousands of motorcycles -- rooms further from the road might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan_and_Ellen_Morin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Been coming to the Chief for dozens of years. It keeps getting updated, and growing.

Came during Sturgis week (hint: Custer is a great central location to enjoy the area, its scenic rides, and a biker friendly town with a dozen bike paraphelia shops and a few nice bars. City even sets the Main St. center for biker friendly parking).

Chief Motel features large clean rooms, nice patio seating, kind staff, and good location. It's been a consistent fav for dozens of years.

Room Tip: Rooms 210, 211, 212 are further back away from street noise during bike week. Features dedicted par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of June. We liked the location in the centre (English spelling) of Custer. Glad we stayed in Custer rather than Hill City or Keystone & the free pass to Custer State Park was a bonus.
Found the rooms OK & very clean, they were set back from the road so we got a good nights sleep, the bed was fine but the bathroom could do with a bit of a makeover but it was clean & tidy.
The owners Bruce & Nancy were very friendly & made us welcome.
We paid for our road trip before we left England and when we gave Bruce our pre paid voucher he said he had not received his money, but he got it sorted the next day so all was well.
We enjoyed sitting outside our door and having a few drinks.
It was very good value for money.
Would not bother with the Purple Pie across the road, had a sandwich (which was the smallest we have ever had in England let alone the USA), a small bag of chips & some pie, had 10% discount with the voucher Bruce gave us and still found it very expensive, the worst value for money of all our meals in America and we were there for three & a half weeks.
I cannot fault the Motel for vale for money and with so many things to do we were out most of the day.
There was even a car washing area with all you needed to give the car a quick clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveFromBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at The Chief motel for 4 nights while seeing all the sites. The motel is older, and our room in need of some repair. The bathroom ceiling is peeling and the entire bathroom sorely needs re painting. The tub had mold all along the bottom of the shower door, not inviting when you want to soak in the tub. The room was very clean and comfortable. 1.99 breakfast OK per my husband, I did not have it. 1.99 vouchers for Purple Pie is great, great little cafe specializing in warm fruit pies across the street. Overall, a great value and location. Bruce, the owner more than helpful with any questions.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chowlee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice homey well cared for property. Everything worked great even though they are dated. Very friendly helpful owners! Nice pool area with spa, pool was warm enough to swim in comfortably. Great value in a great location.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank DORENE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have been to Custer many times in the past and have always stayed someplace else. This time our usual place was booked so we called Chief Motel. Bruce was so friendly and nice, we stayed there for the night. The room was very clean, and quiet even being located on the main street. The pool was an inside pool, which was nice as evenings cool off in Custer. It was very clean and well kept. Bruce was so nice and friendly and made us feel welcome. We will stay there again when traveling thru Custer. He also offers a great discount for a good breakfast just down the street from the motel. His motel is within walking distance of downtown also which is nice as we did not have to get back on the bike to go eat. He also made a recommendation for a place to eat, I think it was called Burgers and Bun. We went down there to eat but was at least a 40 minute wait, which tells us that his recommendation was right on. We will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whipper226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our stay was essentially a quick sleep before hitting the parks again. The motel was a blast from the past - I remember staying at motels when I was a kid. The room was comfortable and clean. The lady that checked us in was very helpful and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. The inexpensive breakfast option at the restaurant in town was great. I will come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trinididder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.1 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1829
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#7 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: £67 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing