We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chief Motel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for four nights. The motel is a little dated, but this added to the charm. Upon checking in, Bruce gave us a quick tour of the surrounding area. Since we were staying three or more nights we were allowed to use the pass for Custer State Park. My family and I will definitely come back. I would have gave them a 5/5 rating if they had on site breakfast. The motel has worked out a two dollar breakfast coupon at one of the diners down the road.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Chief Motel in June of 2013. We were in the Black Hills with our motorcycles, and the truck and trailer we used to haul our bikes to the area. The owners were extremely accommodating, and made sure we had a place to park all our vehicles. The room was clean, the bike parking under the deck came in very handy during a night of hail, and the $1.99 breakfast vouchers were a great money saver on our trip.

We travel a lot, and it's the little things that mean the most to us. This place has it; the 25 cent soda machine, a dry towel on my bike seat each morning, passes to Custer State Park, a fridge and microwave in the room, and a friendly couple who own the place.

I've worked in the hospitality business for 15 years, and as such, tend to notice small things others don't. There is pride in the ownership here, and it shows. If you're looking for a chain motel or 5 star accommodations, don't bother. If you're looking for a clean room you can park right outside of after a day of site seeing in the hills, or if you're on a bike and enjoy leaning back on the deck and meeting other folks on bikes? This is your place.

I will note that while several extra accommodations are given to those on motorcycles here, making it an especially friendly place for bikers, I would not hesitate one second bringing my children here during a family vacation. They would love the pool, and the owners encourage a family friendly environment.

We will be back!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This motel was a wonderful surprise. Selected the motel on line driving to Custer SD. It was more than expected. Very Clean, excellent location and we were able to walk to dinner and breakfast, which is important when you are driving all day. The owners couldn't have been any nicer, they gave us wonderful suggestions and coupons to restaurants. Do not miss the Purple Pie shop, it not has wonderful fruit pie but excellent chicken pot pie. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed three nights attending the Buffalo Round-up. Room was very clean and comfortable. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Liked the designated parking right outside the room, and the chairs right outside your front door on the porch. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Clean, decent size rooms, good location, everything walkable in Custer. Staff so friendly and heplful. $1.99 breakfast voucher was superb value. This was one of the best stays we had on our 2 week road trip, and we would have happily stayed a week here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a very pleasant experience here during our 3 night stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Everything was in working order. Bedding was good and it was quiet at night. We got the free pass to Custer Park for staying 3 nights. We also bought the 1.99 breakfasts, which I thought were not only great values, but an excellent breakfast too. Would stay here again. Highly recommended. PS. If anything, the carpet should be replaced soon; but great value nevertheless.

Room Tip: Seems like most rooms are nice, except the one next to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andre2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This motel is a great value at $67.49 a night for a room with two queen beds. The husband and wife, owners for 18 years, are very friendly and know the area well. They gladly answered our questions and made us feel welcome. The room was quiet and very clean. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. We stayed here with another couple and enjoyed being able to sit and talk on the front porch. Parking right in front of our rooms made it very convenient. A coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator are provided. There was no hair dryer in the room but you could probably get one at the office. ( I brought my own.) There is a large, very nice indoor pool. We all agreed a great benefit of staying here was the free Custer State Park car pass ($15.00 value) for those who stay three nights. As well as coupons you could purchase for pie at the Purple Pie Place and breakfast at the Wrangle Restaurant (both a short walk) for $1.99 each. The pie was to die for and the breakfast included two eggs, ham, bacon or sausage and two pieces of toast. Coffee and hot tea is only 47 cents at this nice restaurant!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.2 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 18 in Custer
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
4.1 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#17 of 18 in Custer
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1829
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#6 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: £54 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing