We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No big name, but big service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chief Motel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No big name, but big service!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked this hotel without reading about it first. I saw all the great reviews and felt reassured. The reviews don't even tell how great the staff is! It may lack big fancy upgrades but makes up for that with great service! The room was clean and big enough for my family of five. Beds were comfy. Staff was ready and willing to help out whatever the need was. They welcomed us with a smile and words of advice! When we come back the the area we will stay at the Chief Motel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    115
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
130
113
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, TN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Chief Motel. We were surprised at how clean and large the room was and the pool and spa were such a great way to end a dusty hiking day! The $1.99 breakfast was excellent! We were so happy with our stay, we stayed an extra night. The manager even loaned us a pass to the local state park so we can tour Needles Hwy and Custer State Park for free. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryinMaryville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We loved the Chief Motel. The rooms were large and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The pool was huge. They also have a sauna and hot tub. Bruce and Nancy were very kind and helpful. They offer an excellent breakfast deal at a local restaurant; $1.99 is 1/3 what the breakfast costs at the restaurant. Also we bought the pie coupon for The Purple Pie Place, great pie and the $1.99 coupon made the pie 1/2 price (great deal).
Only two small critiques. The shower head did not work as well as we would have liked and there was no hair dryer in the room (although one was available on request).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank tworahrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We Spent three nights at this wonderful family friendly motel. Our family loved it. The owners, Bruce and Nancy personally greeted us as if we were family. All the comforts of home make this clean motel a home away from home. This was the base for our vacation. It is perfectly located in Custer and is within walking distance of most of Custer. Don't be afraid to stay at the Chief Motel they have really comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Rooms are geared for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
380 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The room was quite clean and comfortable. I stayed there during the last week of a three week trip and noted that it had the best Wi-Fi and best toilet paper of the entire trip. Aside from being near restaurants and other businesses in Custer, it's a convenient spot for drives to Crazy Horse and Mount Rushmore or along several scenic roads in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here two years ago and loved the room. Same this time. Absolutely emaculate and well decorated. Love the guy at the front desk. He advised us on where the best place for a sit down meal was. Even the lady cleaning the rooms the next morning was cheerful. The pool is extra large and clear as a bell.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leftlane1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Chief Motel(and the Rocket Inn) and don't regret either one. This has a fantastic king bed and a HUGE TV. Whenever we walked back in from a tiring day of sightseeing, we came in to a very fresh smelling and clean room. Always had what we needed and didn't have to ask for any more. The owners take a lot of pride in their property and it was great that they gave us a pass for Custer State Park, which was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
30 reviews
12.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 17 in Custer
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Property: Chief Motel
Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#7 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing