We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chief Motel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Walldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
349 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The room we had was on the small side and it was quite dark. The Chief Motel is an older property but it is reasonably well kept. Our room and the bathroom was clean. The is a pool but we didn't make use of it. There is no breakfast available, but they partner with a breakfast place nearby which gives discounts to guests of the Chief. However, we didn't try that either.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    121
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
135
116
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked the Chief Motel based on other reviews on TA. I wasn't disappointed.
I was a solo traveler on a motorcycle, riding the Black Hills just days before the Sturgis Rally. I stayed here for two nights, one queen bedroom. The room was immaculately clean - floors, linens, bathroom. The room had a flat screen tv, mini fridge and small microwave. The desk/area had a shelf for odds and ends - great place for my helmet and other gear.

For the bike riders - there is covered parking for bikes, or you can park the bike in front of your room. The owner puts out towels for wiping down the bikes in the morning. These are the torn up hotel towels - but they are really fluffy, not coarse, very much like microfiber.

This motel is in a great location, a couple of blocks to downtown, plus Custer is extremely close to the major monuments - Crazy Horse, Mt Rushmore; and great rides - Needles Highway, Iron Mountain Road, and the Custer State Park Wildlife Loop.

I would definitely, and probably will, be staying here again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms here would be good. Every room is ground-level. You park in front of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DalTexN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights and loved it. They are very friendly, rooms are clean and you can park right in front of your room. The coupons are an added bonus. The breakfast is wonderful as is the pie! Great place to stay in the Custer area!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank fastfriends78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Chief for 3 days. Having driven 6 hours we were a little bit disappointed to see a sign on the locked reception door at 1:20 saying check in was at 2pm. No big deal, we got back in the car and went to Mount Rushmore, 20 minutes further down the road. The rooms at the Chief are spacious and clean. The indoor pool is excellent and doesn’t take your breath away when you jump in! We also liked the free Custer State Park pass. Overall, the little extra's make this a good choice to stay when in Custer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccfc1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had planned to camp in the state park, but that fell through. We drove around Custer, first stopping by all the large corporate hotels/motels, and they were sold out. We wanted something with a pool for the kids, so we stopped here. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. We got to the room and were pleasantly surprised. The decor is a bit dated, but I have never been in a hotel room so clean and well-cared for as this one. Forget Holiday Inn Express. If you're going to Custer, stay at the Chief Motel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistressMinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked this hotel without reading about it first. I saw all the great reviews and felt reassured. The reviews don't even tell how great the staff is! It may lack big fancy upgrades but makes up for that with great service! The room was clean and big enough for my family of five. Beds were comfy. Staff was ready and willing to help out whatever the need was. They welcomed us with a smile and words of advice! When we come back the the area we will stay at the Chief Motel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Chief Motel. We were surprised at how clean and large the room was and the pool and spa were such a great way to end a dusty hiking day! The $1.99 breakfast was excellent! We were so happy with our stay, we stayed an extra night. The manager even loaned us a pass to the local state park so we can tour Needles Hwy and Custer State Park for free. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryinMaryville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 17 in Custer
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.1 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 17 in Custer
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Property: Chief Motel
Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1829
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#7 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing