We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
147
40
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
40
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunting lodge hot tub front porch charcoal grill black hills open room met john custer state park brewed coffee cool night cozy cabins mickelson trail queen bed two blocks the main drag large porch ceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Fantastic place to stay in Custer SD! We took our two small dogs with us on this vacation, and it's hard to find a good place to stay with pets. Now we think we've found the BEST place to stay in Custer with our pups. The cabins were immaculately clean, the host (Ann) was friendly and welcoming, and the location was very quiet within a short walk of main street. Cabin #9 was compact (12' by 20'), but it was well laid out with a small separate bathroom w/ small shower, a queen bed, small fridge, microwave, sink, table, dishes, air conditioning, coffee maker, toaster, and TV -- everything we needed for our stay. We go back to Custer yearly and have tried several places in and around the area, but we'll be going back to the Shady Rest again. Thanks for the kind hospitality, Ann and John!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was a nice place to stay right in the heart of the southern Black Hills. The cabin we stayed in was on the small side and we both banged our shins on the bed more than once, but outside of that this was a good place to stay. WiFi was excellent and having a microwave and refrig made life easier. Rates were reasonable. Parking was right outside the cabin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon67203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We spent one night here in a cabin. The cabin was extremely clean and the owner is very friendly. The location is great, we were able to walk to restaurants. You are a couple of blocks off of the Main Street so it was very quiet

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the bunk house and absolutely loved it. It was a very nice, clean, well kept cabin. The bunk above the dinner table worked well for my son and would be a blessing to most children 12 and under. The main bed was a bit stiffer thanIi prefer but pretty normal for such lodging.

The cabin was stocked with clean cookware, silverware, plates, bowls, etc. It provided enough room for the two of us to not feel cramped and I'm fussing could comfortably fit 2 adults along with 2-4 kids since the table somehow transforms into a bed as well.

Parking was a bit tight for our particular cabin but manageable with a mid-size car.

The caretaker, Ann, was very nice and helpful and provided good advice about nearby dining and sightseeing. We could see a beautiful view of the Black Hills from the cabin and were able to reach Custer State Park, Sylvan Lake, and the hiking trail to Harney's Peak within a brief, beautiful 15 minute drive.

I would definitely stay here again and heartily recommend it for anyone in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrowinGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I was having second thoughts when we were underway to Custer . . . hubby is 5-star guy, I am budget, no-stars . . . the place is billed as rustic. We drive up and the place looks nice. We check in, get our key to cabin 5, and enter. It is pouring rain, my camera is in the car, so I took the photos with my phone.

This place is GREAT! We have a living area with queen bed and sofa, TV . . . a bedroom with queen bed, two chairs, and a roll-way. We have another bedroom with a queen bed, couple of chairs, and TV. We have a full kitchen with toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans, dish cloths, and a nice bathroom with shower (plenty of towels and hot water). We are set for 4 days.

Some units have porch swings but we have chairs . . . the trade off is that we are right next to the hot tub, which our 10-yr-olds loved. There is also a nice park right across the street. Our cabin was really nice . . . matching bedspreads, pretty curtains, everything was neat, clean, perfect. We had a/c, fans, and a Dearborn heater. We were surprised that we used the heater in late July!

The owners, Ann and John, are friendly, helpful, but not intrusive. They are full of good advice, if needed. We loved that they had (made) time to stop and visit with us . . . we felt like friends instead of customers.

We were happy we made the decision to stay here and in Custer . . . we felt we were near everything we wanted to see/do . . . Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Bear Country, Reptile Gardens, Cosmos Mystery Area (where the kids dug for geodes), Big Thunder Gold Mile (panning for gold), mini golf, Rapid City (where we photographed all of the presidents).

We are so happy we made the choice to stay with "friends" at Shady Rest.

Sandy (in Denton)

Room Tip: Our unit, #5 was perfect for 4 people.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews