We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of Shady Rest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shady Rest Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The managers are excellent and do their very best to please you and the cabin was extremely clean. Beds were pretty comfortable. The arrangement and make up of the beds in each room would suit a family very well. There was also a small kitchenette, we didn't need it but it would have suited us just fine if we would have had the need for it. Would I stay there again? Yes.

Room Tip: Good for a family. The cabin we stayed in had three full beds with one bedroom. The living room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreidaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a cross country road trip. Loved both of the cabins we rented. They are very clean and have everything you need. Hosts were wonderful to work with and a wealth of information regarding local sites. Custer itself is full of things to do! We had full days and still didn't see it all. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitestavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Fantastic place to stay in Custer SD! We took our two small dogs with us on this vacation, and it's hard to find a good place to stay with pets. Now we think we've found the BEST place to stay in Custer with our pups. The cabins were immaculately clean, the host (Ann) was friendly and welcoming, and the location was very quiet within a short walk of main street. Cabin #9 was compact (12' by 20'), but it was well laid out with a small separate bathroom w/ small shower, a queen bed, small fridge, microwave, sink, table, dishes, air conditioning, coffee maker, toaster, and TV -- everything we needed for our stay. We go back to Custer yearly and have tried several places in and around the area, but we'll be going back to the Shady Rest again. Thanks for the kind hospitality, Ann and John!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was a nice place to stay right in the heart of the southern Black Hills. The cabin we stayed in was on the small side and we both banged our shins on the bed more than once, but outside of that this was a good place to stay. WiFi was excellent and having a microwave and refrig made life easier. Rates were reasonable. Parking was right outside the cabin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon67203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We spent one night here in a cabin. The cabin was extremely clean and the owner is very friendly. The location is great, we were able to walk to restaurants. You are a couple of blocks off of the Main Street so it was very quiet

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the bunk house and absolutely loved it. It was a very nice, clean, well kept cabin. The bunk above the dinner table worked well for my son and would be a blessing to most children 12 and under. The main bed was a bit stiffer thanIi prefer but pretty normal for such lodging.

The cabin was stocked with clean cookware, silverware, plates, bowls, etc. It provided enough room for the two of us to not feel cramped and I'm fussing could comfortably fit 2 adults along with 2-4 kids since the table somehow transforms into a bed as well.

Parking was a bit tight for our particular cabin but manageable with a mid-size car.

The caretaker, Ann, was very nice and helpful and provided good advice about nearby dining and sightseeing. We could see a beautiful view of the Black Hills from the cabin and were able to reach Custer State Park, Sylvan Lake, and the hiking trail to Harney's Peak within a brief, beautiful 15 minute drive.

I would definitely stay here again and heartily recommend it for anyone in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrowinGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I was having second thoughts when we were underway to Custer . . . hubby is 5-star guy, I am budget, no-stars . . . the place is billed as rustic. We drive up and the place looks nice. We check in, get our key to cabin 5, and enter. It is pouring rain, my camera is in the car, so I took the photos with my phone.

This place is GREAT! We have a living area with queen bed and sofa, TV . . . a bedroom with queen bed, two chairs, and a roll-way. We have another bedroom with a queen bed, couple of chairs, and TV. We have a full kitchen with toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans, dish cloths, and a nice bathroom with shower (plenty of towels and hot water). We are set for 4 days.

Some units have porch swings but we have chairs . . . the trade off is that we are right next to the hot tub, which our 10-yr-olds loved. There is also a nice park right across the street. Our cabin was really nice . . . matching bedspreads, pretty curtains, everything was neat, clean, perfect. We had a/c, fans, and a Dearborn heater. We were surprised that we used the heater in late July!

The owners, Ann and John, are friendly, helpful, but not intrusive. They are full of good advice, if needed. We loved that they had (made) time to stop and visit with us . . . we felt like friends instead of customers.

We were happy we made the decision to stay here and in Custer . . . we felt we were near everything we wanted to see/do . . . Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Bear Country, Reptile Gardens, Cosmos Mystery Area (where the kids dug for geodes), Big Thunder Gold Mile (panning for gold), mini golf, Rapid City (where we photographed all of the presidents).

We are so happy we made the choice to stay with "friends" at Shady Rest.

Sandy (in Denton)

Room Tip: Our unit, #5 was perfect for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Custer hotels
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.2 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 18 in Custer
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Rest Motel

Address: 238 Gordon St, Custer, SD 57730-1820
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Shady Rest Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing