We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
147
40
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
40
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub front porch black hills charcoal grill met john custer state park cozy cabins mickelson trail the main drag bed cabin longer stay jewel cave national monument staying nights coffee maker small town mount rushmore close to town
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a cross country road trip. Loved both of the cabins we rented. They are very clean and have everything you need. Hosts were wonderful to work with and a wealth of information regarding local sites. Custer itself is full of things to do! We had full days and still didn't see it all. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitestavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Fantastic place to stay in Custer SD! We took our two small dogs with us on this vacation, and it's hard to find a good place to stay with pets. Now we think we've found the BEST place to stay in Custer with our pups. The cabins were immaculately clean, the host (Ann) was friendly and welcoming, and the location was very quiet within a short walk of main street. Cabin #9 was compact (12' by 20'), but it was well laid out with a small separate bathroom w/ small shower, a queen bed, small fridge, microwave, sink, table, dishes, air conditioning, coffee maker, toaster, and TV -- everything we needed for our stay. We go back to Custer yearly and have tried several places in and around the area, but we'll be going back to the Shady Rest again. Thanks for the kind hospitality, Ann and John!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was a nice place to stay right in the heart of the southern Black Hills. The cabin we stayed in was on the small side and we both banged our shins on the bed more than once, but outside of that this was a good place to stay. WiFi was excellent and having a microwave and refrig made life easier. Rates were reasonable. Parking was right outside the cabin.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon67203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We spent one night here in a cabin. The cabin was extremely clean and the owner is very friendly. The location is great, we were able to walk to restaurants. You are a couple of blocks off of the Main Street so it was very quiet

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the bunk house and absolutely loved it. It was a very nice, clean, well kept cabin. The bunk above the dinner table worked well for my son and would be a blessing to most children 12 and under. The main bed was a bit stiffer thanIi prefer but pretty normal for such lodging.

The cabin was stocked with clean cookware, silverware, plates, bowls, etc. It provided enough room for the two of us to not feel cramped and I'm fussing could comfortably fit 2 adults along with 2-4 kids since the table somehow transforms into a bed as well.

Parking was a bit tight for our particular cabin but manageable with a mid-size car.

The caretaker, Ann, was very nice and helpful and provided good advice about nearby dining and sightseeing. We could see a beautiful view of the Black Hills from the cabin and were able to reach Custer State Park, Sylvan Lake, and the hiking trail to Harney's Peak within a brief, beautiful 15 minute drive.

I would definitely stay here again and heartily recommend it for anyone in the area.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrowinGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews