We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain in the hills”
Review of Shady Rest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shady Rest Motel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Macon GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bargain in the hills”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Funky little cabins with charmingly odd architecture, furniture placement can be odd, jammed into alcoves and bends in the cabin - but scrupulously clean, and little kitchen area had small refrigerator, toaster, dishes, etc. for vacation needs. Would have loved more seating on the front porch of the cabin, but overall the owners obviously work hard to anticipate the needs of their guests. Very friendly, informed about the area, will answer any questions but don't impose. This place is a real bargain, excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keatyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    37
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
88
54
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We are just completing a five day vacation in the Black Hills. We originally hoped to stay all nights in Custer State Park, but were unable to book cabins there for our first and last nights. We were fortunate to stay in cabins at Shady Rest for those nights. The cabins are modest, extremely clean, well maintained and comfortable. Shady Rest provides a very unique experience that is a wonderful contrast to traditional hotels and motels.
The owners/managers are delightful and live on site. They are obviously committed to insuring guests have a wonderful stays. The Shady Rest exceeded our expectations in all regards.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpm1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at Shady Rest for three nights in June 2013. It was a great place to stay for price and location. We are a couple in our late twenties early thirties so we weren't looking for a town that was geared heavily to the kids and we found that in Custer. Having the coffee in the morning before we adventured out was nice.

The cabin itself was very spacious. I believe we were in Cabin 9. The bathroom shower was an ok size since we are fairly in shape, but it did feel like a tight squeeze because we are so tall. It was nice to just leave the windows open during the day and the cabin was comfortable when we came back. This is coming from a couple from South Carolina where 77 and 90% humidity is the summer norm at 8am. My only complaint was that the pillows were a little flat.

I will definitely suggest these cabins to friends that come to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcatp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gracemont, OK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The managers are excellent and do their very best to please you and the cabin was extremely clean. Beds were pretty comfortable. The arrangement and make up of the beds in each room would suit a family very well. There was also a small kitchenette, we didn't need it but it would have suited us just fine if we would have had the need for it. Would I stay there again? Yes.

Room Tip: Good for a family. The cabin we stayed in had three full beds with one bedroom. The living room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreidaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ct
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a cross country road trip. Loved both of the cabins we rented. They are very clean and have everything you need. Hosts were wonderful to work with and a wealth of information regarding local sites. Custer itself is full of things to do! We had full days and still didn't see it all. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitestavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Fantastic place to stay in Custer SD! We took our two small dogs with us on this vacation, and it's hard to find a good place to stay with pets. Now we think we've found the BEST place to stay in Custer with our pups. The cabins were immaculately clean, the host (Ann) was friendly and welcoming, and the location was very quiet within a short walk of main street. Cabin #9 was compact (12' by 20'), but it was well laid out with a small separate bathroom w/ small shower, a queen bed, small fridge, microwave, sink, table, dishes, air conditioning, coffee maker, toaster, and TV -- everything we needed for our stay. We go back to Custer yearly and have tried several places in and around the area, but we'll be going back to the Shady Rest again. Thanks for the kind hospitality, Ann and John!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
372 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was a nice place to stay right in the heart of the southern Black Hills. The cabin we stayed in was on the small side and we both banged our shins on the bed more than once, but outside of that this was a good place to stay. WiFi was excellent and having a microwave and refrig made life easier. Rates were reasonable. Parking was right outside the cabin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon67203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Custer hotels
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.2 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#3 of 17 in Custer
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Rest Motel

Property: Shady Rest Motel
Address: 238 Gordon St, Custer, SD 57730-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#3 Family Hotel in Custer
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Shady Rest Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing