We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!,”
Review of Shady Rest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shady Rest Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at Shady Rest for four days in June 2014. It was a wonderful experience. The people who own these cabins are the most cordial people I have met in a long time. The cabins were very clean and location was ideal to all attractions in the area. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Bunkhouse and loved it! The cabins are neat and fun, super clean and the owners are wonderful. Yes the cabins are small and it's a tight little compound. Get over it, you're on vacation and not paying very much. We had a great time and would go back. You should too!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank TxBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I loved these cabins!! Outstandingly friendly service from the owner/manager. Super well maintained and super clean cabins. A great little kitchenette and comfy place to lounge around in. A great porch swing to relax in and take in the view of the Black Hills. Super central location and walking distance to all the downtown restaurants and stores. Custer State Park, Mount Rushmore, and Crazy Horse are all nearby and easy to get to. I'd stay here again and again! Amazing value at only $55 a night. I stayed 2 nights and loved every second of it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent four days here in one of their two bedroom cabins. Truly enjoyed their cozy little place. Spent some time in their hot tub after long daytime hikes. Kids enjoyed the little playground and stream as well as the "tree fort" on the hill out back. Would love to do it all over again. It was a great launching place for so many things in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed two nights in Custer at the lodge. It is two-story, has three bedroom spaces, two bathrooms, and full kitchen space. Ann was very helpful and kind. The grounds are not directly in town but off a little near the pine forest. The lodge is very comfortable - a great place to stay. It is near Jewel Cave, Wind Cave, Crazy Horse Monument, Keystone, and Mount Rushmore. I am so impressed with the area that I want to return soon - and I will definitely, no questions asked, stay at the Shady Rest Motel again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had very great stay, location was walking to the downtown area .Ann and John very helpful. We would stay there again. Not a far drive to custer state park. Cabins are very clean and cozy and wasn't a far drive to the surrounding cities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 671Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Finally made it out to the Sturgis rally this year & after a recommendation from a stranger in a bar back home who overheard our plans, we decided to stay out of town in Custer. I couldn't be happier that we did. We like the whole bike rally thing but it's really more of an excuse than anything to go somewhere new and actually RIDE! I am a barmaid by trade, so hopping from saloon to saloon is more like vacationing in your office would be to the average guy/gal out there. So we rented some cabins at the Shady Rest, one for me & my old man & another for our friends John & Joey who drove the rig out from Long Island. The area is so beautiful & the Shady Rest is awesome!! We didn't see too much of our host John, but wife Anne was always about & couldn't have been more friendly & helpful with everything! She had fresh coffee out every morning, & even left rags at our cabins to wipe down our bikes with since it was unusually wet the week we were there. She was always interested in how our rides went, what we did & saw (which was ALOT!) And had great ideas & recommendations for us too. We felt as though we had been going there for years! When we expressed possibly moving there one day she seemed genuinely excited about the idea. This is why I was a little reluctant to write such a great review- we didn't want to give away our secret for fear there maybe no vacancy next time! But if you are planning a trip to S. Dakota, be it for the rally (if you don't mind being an hour or so outside the big party atmosphere of Full Throttle, Buffalo Chip, etc.) or just for a great vacation in one of the most beautiful places our country has to offer, not to mention extremely reasonable rates, then I couldn't give the Shady Rest more of a thumbs up! (Keep that in mind Anne when we call for next year's reservations!

Room Tip: Some cabins are up the hill so if you have mobility issues please inquire as to which units are reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisamarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Custer hotels
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Rest Motel

Address: 238 Gordon St, Custer, SD 57730-1820
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Custer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Shady Rest Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing