We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend staying here!”
Review of Shady Rest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shady Rest Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Anne and John are absolutely the best people you will ever meet! They made us feel right at home. These are full service cabins, you make your own meals! They provide silverware, pans, plates, bowls, toaster, microwave, can opener, towels, soap for hands and shower, all bedding pillows and t.p and free wifi and air conditioning.. There is fresh brewed coffee every morning down by the cabin where the hot tub sits out at. They give you your privacy but are always there if you need anything.. We loved our conversations with Anne and John, they had wonderful suggestions as to where to see some sights and eat.. Laundry service is about 4 blocks away, that was clean also.. Very reasonably priced also! Lots cheaper then a hotel and I feel better service..

Room Tip: They have lots of great cabins, we stayed in one of the new ones. If you have kids get the bunk hous...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Shady Rest Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This place was great. It was easy to find in the center of Custer. We didn't want to stay in Rapid City or Keystone. Since we traveled at the end of the Sturgis Bike Rally it was hard to find rooms. Ann worked with us to make sure we were accomodated. They stayed up late for our arrival after 10:00 pm. Ann gave me great driving directions to avoid construction in Wyoming and South Dakota.
A map was ready for us with sights to see and places to go. Morning coffee and chatting with the owners in the morning was great.
The cabins were comfortable and very clean. Beds were comfy. Rooms had small kitchenettes which are handy if staying for a few days and you want to cook. Not much open late in Custer so good for a quick dinner. Bathrooms are small as are showers but nice and clean.
Location is close to Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind Cave, Custer State Park and all the activities. Very quiet location, across the street from a park where the kids can play.
We LOVED this place.

Room Tip: All the cabins are great.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank momofmany5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Easy location to find, overlooking the town. Nice comfortable cabins with kitchenette. Good quality bedding, Very clean, Owners are very friendly and helpful. Only coffee for breakfast. Numerous eating places within walking distance. Large porch with rocking chairs, great place for a sunset drink.
Pet friendly lots of good places for walks around the Motel, watch the deers.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two new cabins located on the top of the drive, better view and quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ontheroadagain5154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We rented two cabins for our family of five. Both cabins were clean and comfortable, and it didn't cost much more than one room in a chain hotel. The owners were so considerate and helpful. We were greeted warmly and made to feel right at home. We received a number of recommendations of what to see and do and how to get around. It felt to us that Custer is a little less touristy than other towns (which we liked) and since the Shady Rest Motel is a couple blocks away from the main street through Custer, it was nice and quiet, overlooking the town. Custer seemed to be centrally located for the things we wanted to do, and we learned that it's generally 5-10 degrees cooler than Rapid City.

Room Tip: Our cabins had a number of steps going up to them. If you can't do steps, talk to the owner, Ann...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This motel is on the south end of town located against a hill. Has a city park across the street and is in walking distant of the main area of town. Small place with a personal touch. The owners were nice and friendly. Checked us in with efficiency and a good attitude. The cabins are older but have been kept up and have some remodeling touches here and there. The beds were springy. Had a window mounted A/C unit. A CRT TV on a roller stand that didn't put the TV much higher than the bed. TV did have cable though. Our cabin had a little kitchenette with dishes. Guests are required to clean their own dishes. Privacy with the curtains was frustrating, was difficult to get adequate coverage to consider the windows "covered". The door locks and seals are very antique. It's not the Hilton - it's a cabin. Owners asked us to dump our own garbage. No continental breakfast here. The price was fair and a good value. Was a new experience for us. I liked it more than my wife did. I would stay again, not sure my wife would.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bullitt1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

John and Ann are gracious hosts. The cabins are charming and clean, and we could not have had a better stay. All of the guests were friendly, the location was perfect for walking to town. Our 7 year old son had the time of his life playing with the owners son, and other children staying there. We only wish we could have stayed longer. The happiest place we have ever stayed. Thanks John and Ann, and we hope to be back again real soon! God bless.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeBellisFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here and toured Custer state park and Mount Rushmore.

The owner was incredibly helpful and friendly. It was nice to have a cabin with a separate room. It had everything we needed.

The location was close to town but back a bit so it was nice and peaceful. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank WashingtonWallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#17 of 18 in Custer
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.2 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Rest Motel

Address: 238 Gordon St, Custer, SD 57730-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Custer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Shady Rest Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing