We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great -- Not Bad -- Nothing Special”
Review of Rock Crest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Crest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for one night and the room was clean. However, the floor and bed slanted pretty badly. The layout of the little kitchette area and the little table made for a lot of bumps and bruises. There was not enough room between them to walk so you were constantly whacking your hips on either the counter edge or the table (or if you are a little taller your head on the cabinet). There was an isue with the television -- but we have to give the manager kudos -- he drove 20 miles to come out and get it fixed immediately. The location was good and the outside area was clean and inviting. The rate was a bit expensive for such a bare bones room -- I have paid far less for nicer rooms in just as touristy an area. Based on the rate and the write up on the internet I had expected a more upscale lodge -- and got a more economy (family friendly) motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed in the Family "Cabin" while we were here and my Dad/Stepmom stayed in one of the cabins on the hill. We were both happy with our accommodations-they are well kept and clean. When we first got there, we found out that the Family Cabin was not really a cabin at all-but an add on next to a double garage and my Husband was disappointed that we weren't in one of the pretty cabins on the hill but once inside he was surprised. There are no pictures of the Family cabin on their website. There was a full kitchen with a big washer and dryer, stove, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and toaster, eating area with a table with chairs for 4, double pullout couch and a couple of comfy chairs with a flat screen tv in the living room. We had a master bedroom with a queen size bed, another bedroom with 2 singles and then of course a bathroom with a tub. We assumed that no one would be making our beds everyday or cleaning up at all but were pleasantly surprised when we came back to our room to find it tidied and beds made!
We had an issue with me booking the wrong dates and when I went to the front desk to sort it out, the manager was helpful and stated that the resorts policy for early check out was a 25.00 penalty but that she would speak with the owners and see what she could do. We never did have the charge put on our bill. They were very reasonable and I was thankful as it could have cost us a whole night's stay at any other resort.
At night we were so tired and needed a good night's rest and we noticed a lot of people right outside our cabin playing games and grilling and we worried that we might hear noise all night long. Once inside the cabin, we didn't hear a thing-it was very quiet.
The kids liked the resort because they have a pool and a hot tub although they complained that the hot tub wasn't hot or even warm. The pool was never really busy at all.
I should also mention that the climb up the hill to the cabins is a little steep for older people, my Dad got quite winded climbing up so if you're not using a vehicle to get up there it may be a little much.
Also, they offer a continental breakfast in the morning in the check in office.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin at the bottom of the hill or in the motel if you have a hard time with climbs. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UBERMOMOF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Came upon Rock Crest Lodge shortly after arriving into Custer. Based on how clean and neat this property looked, my husband and I stopped in to ask about a room for the night. We were able to get one of the "lodge rooms" consisting of a small bedroom with two double beds connected to a small living/dining area... perfectly adequate for us and for a reasonable price. Our "lodge" room was really a renovated motel room from a motel of long ago. The renovated room we had was tastefully and nicely done. MOST important to us, it was clean. We liked that we could park directly in front of our unit, only feet away, so dragging luggage in and out was easy. The beds were comfortable and because our unit had two rooms, which in the former life of this motel was most likely two small motel units (back to back), we had windows on two opposing sides and got good cross ventilation with the windows open. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Custer, SD. This is a perfect location to stay if you are seeing sights in Custer, centrally located to see Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Jewel and Wind Caves. We stayed in a 2 room lodge room. It was super clean, new, free continental breakfast and on Main Street if town do you could walk to all the restaurants and shops. Custer was great and we will definitely be back to stay at Rock Crest Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Rock Crest Lodge was not the lodging that we had booked over a month ago for our 4 night stay in Custer on our way to Glacier National Park. Unfortunately, our one night at the place we had booked proved to be miserable in a very small cabin with a bed as hard as the ground! The following morning, we spoke with the owner and received a refund on the remaining 3 days of our stay.

At 9:30 am on our second day in Custer, we were looking for a place to stay for 3 nights. We stopped at Rock Crest without looking at tripadvisor reviews. We had a choice of 3 rooms and chose room 101. That room has a king bed and is handicapped accessible. We are not handicapped, but really liked the larger bathroom! They allowed us to move our stuff in before 10:30 am.

What a wonderful experience! We parked right at our door. The room and grounds are immaculate. The bed was very comfortable. There was a kitchen type cabinet with multiple drawers and upper cabinets - wine glasses, no dishes/silverware, a microwave and mini fridge. A small table w/2 chairs. There was not a sofa or chair in this room - probably due to it being designed for handicapped use. Even though we were on the front of the building, we were not bothered by traffic noise. The motel sits a ways off the road. This room is next to the office - so, no one on the other side. However, the washer/dryer for the lodge is in the room right next to 101. When they are washing sheets/towels, the wall in the room does vibrate a little and you can hear a low roar. The manager told us that they watch to see when the occupants leave before they start the washer. They were washing when we moved into the room, we heard the low roar and told the manager that they could wash when we were there because it did not bother us.

There is a guest laundry with one washer and dryer. You can wash and dry a load of clothes for $2.75 which we did. A swimming pool and hot tub are in the back of the lodge on the way up to the cabins. We did not use them, but they looked well taken care of. A continental breakfast is provided but we chose to eat at the bakery downtown.

This lodge and cabins is affiliated with the Custer State Park lodges. I think this makes the motel a top notch place to stay.

Our stay was a great experience all the way around!

Room Tip: 101 is handicapped accessible with a roomy bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolinaGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our room, #9, was VERY roomy, one room w/2 queens attached to the front room w/pull out sofa bed and kitchenette. Bathroom is a bit tight, otherwise as a whole mostly roomy. Would have preferred a cabin up on the hill, they look very nice, but all were full. There is a huge lawn out front of the motel portion that our kids enjoyed playing volleyball, flying a kite and running around in. The pool doesn't open til 10:00 which is very inconvenient if you want to swim in the morning when the sun is shining on the pool before going to see attractions. Most people I suspect are going to get going by 10 to see attractions and be gone a good portion of the day. It would have been nice for the pool to open by at least 8am. We would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephieKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We spent four nights in Custer, and found the location of the property to give us great access to all the things we wanted to see in the area. The cabin we had was very clean, spacious and allowed us to feel a little more "on vacation" rather than in a hotel. We had the single room, two bedroom cabin for our family of four, and it worked out well for us. It was quite cool, so the pool wasn't open yet, but with temps overnight in the 40's, I don't think I would have wanted to swim anyway!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.1 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
12.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Crest Lodge

Address: 15 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1422
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Crest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Rock Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Crest Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing