We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock Crest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Crest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in lodge room. Very clean and has a sink and microwave. Very close to Custer State Park and close to roads that lead to Mt. Rushmore, etc. Similar price to staying inside the Custer State Park. This room was cleaner and nicer than staying at State Game Lodge inside the park. But the state park has restaurants and activities inside the park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    58
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
75
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great location, clean cabins, friendly staff, breakfast - loved it! Traveling with family - was located close to all main roads to reach attractions! plenty of restaurants to walk too - super friendly staff! kids could explore and rock climb behind cabin.

Room Tip: cabins are great! Traveling with family we loved the twin beds cabin 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia_fuffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Called to get a room and 2 hours later found out event was canceled. Called back to get refund and was told no, I can't believe that they wouldn't credit me back it was only 2 hours..... What poor customer service! Don't think I will ever stay there....

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank wskigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We chose a cabin with two bedrooms, LR, and full kitchen including full size washer and dryer for our 6-day stay. Room rate included a cold breakfast and entry pass to nearby Custer State Park. Lodge's central location was perfect for visits to the large variety of local attractions: Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind Cave, etc. While not fancy, the cabin was clean, comfortable and reasonably well appointed. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. All in all we had a very good experience here and would return. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UCLA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed here 2 times now (both shorts visits) and my experience has been very good. The management was very helpful, polite and efficient. The rooms were great, very clean, slept without any disturbances. Toilets and bathrooms were well stocked with necessities and they were also very clean. Over all-very pleasant stay and would recommend this place without any hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dharshinig2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidwood, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The place was nice and clean but we left hiking and my husband left his wedding band of 18 years in the bathroom. I thought he put it away and come to find out he left it and it was not there when we returned. We left at 6am to pursue out trip to yellowstone and did not realize the ring was missing until the next day. I called and they said they would look and call me back. No return phone call was made. I had to call again. They sent the maids to look for it. Lesson learned we will not leave valuables behind and will leave the do not disturb sign on the door when we are gone.The coffee pot was broken and the main lobby had no coffee made. The beds were hard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in the French creek cabin. It was beautiful! Great location to all our sightseeing adventures. The staff was so helpful. Was a little anxious about booking a place over the internet, sight unseen. It was everything we could have wanted. We are from PA, so if we ever get the chance to see south Dakota again, this will be our place. Everything was so clean and any issues we had, they took care of it within hours. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Just remember that this place has cabins and rooms at the front lodge. Make sure you look carefully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kvet777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
4.0 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
12.6 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Crest Lodge

Property: Rock Crest Lodge
Address: 15 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1422
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Crest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Rock Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Crest Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing