We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great two room lodge in the heart of Custer”
Review of Rock Crest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rock Crest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Minnesota
1 review
“Great two room lodge in the heart of Custer”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Room #107 in the lodge met our needs for a family vacation for 5. It was nice to have two separate rooms so our 19 year old could have his own space after we went to bed in the other room. I wish the pool was open earlier than 10am because my 8 and 11 year old wanted to swim by 8am. The hot tub was small and never hot when we wanted to use it. The breakfast was simple breads and cereals, but it filled us up until lunch. Our room was always clean with the beds made and new towels each day. I loved that we could just pull our vehicle up to the front door. The hotel staff were all pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamgrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockcrestsd, Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for your review. The Rock Crest Lodge has several suites with one or two bedrooms. The staff cleans and maintains the pool starting at 8 am; we try to have the pool open before 10 am when ever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    58
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
75
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

This was a wonderful place to stay when visiting the Black Hills area. It was centrally located. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was large. This hotel was very quite.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Got into Custer and saw this cute motel and cabin resort right in town, and since we planned on walking around town chose to stay here. When they told me the price, which was a lot more than I would normally spend for a motel, they also said most of the hotels in town were full and that they were just about booked. So instead of taking a chance I decided to stay. Although the room was quite roomy, it smelled of cigarette smoke. But the worst part was the sheets....I swear on was sleeping on sandpaper! For the price they charge per night you would think they could afford decent sheets.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Just got back from SD, and wanted to give this place a great review.

Had a hard time choosing a town to stay in, and chose Custer partly based on reviews to this place, and that it does it's bookings through Custer State Park Website as well, since CSP was to be one of our major stops.

We had a cabin, full kitchen, a loft with 2 queens, and a queen sofa sleeper....a great deck off our cabin, with a table and chairs, decent sized living room area, table and chairs in kitchen area....very clean, staff super welcoming, continental breakfast.....more than enough towels, dishes, toiletries, etc......

Would stay here again....

only complaints, and these are mine, I would bring my own pillows next time....I'm spoiled at home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank home2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonachie, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed in one of the lodges with a hot tub which was great. We were ahead of the summer crowd so it was nice and peaceful. Occasional traffic noise on the road below but nothing too disturbing. Great location for visiting Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse memorial and Custer State Park. We chose this location based on previous reviews in TA and it was worth it. Custer is a cute town with several great restaurants. We also had dinner at the Sylvan Lake Lodge within Custer St. Park that was outstanding- On another day we drove to the Wounded Knee burial site which is amazing in it's simplicity. Also went to Evan's Plunge which was unique but didn't live up to expectations of a "hot" springs.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildAcres0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I chose this lodge because it has cabins with that rarest of commodities - three single beds for our children and a queen for my husband and I! It also featured a pull-out bed for my father. The cabin was super-clean and recently-built. The front porch is generous and inviting. We saw deer every evening behind the cabins. The staff was helpful and responsive. We broke a lightbulb accidentally and the owner was up immediately to vacuum the shards of glass. He explained that the lamps were top-heavy and they were to be be replaced as soon as possible. The only thing they could improve would be to add an extra washer and dryer in the laundry area. The location is superb: close enough to walk the main drag in Custer but not noisy.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed in a cabin (#209) away from the main street. The lodge rooms may be less expensive but it's worth a few extra bucks for a cabin - nice porch to sit & relax outside, clean room with enough space, nothing frilly. We recommend the Sage Creek Grill for dinner, just down the street about 2 miles. Awesome.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
4.0 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
12.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Crest Lodge

Property: Rock Crest Lodge
Address: 15 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1422
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Crest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Rock Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Crest Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing