We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST motel we have ever stayed at.... that says a lot...”
Review of Rocket Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocket Motel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We are avid road trippers... and we have stayed at hundred of motels and hotels... this motel by far is the best.... we left 3 hours later than anticipated to Mount Rushmore. We had reservations at a major hotel chain about 40 miles or so up the road, but by 2am i needed some much needed rest. I was hesitant about pulling in because of previous experiences. However, from the moment I woke up the owners to the check out the next morning It was an amazing experience. They greeted me like i was welcomed there and treated us like we were part of the family... in a good way.... I still feel bad about waking them up... but glad I did. They had soap and shampoo there as well as a microwave and mini fridge at no extra cost. The entire facility was very well kept. The room smelled clean and was in fact spotless! the beds and pillows were so plush and soft... and OMG the towels!!!!! the were fluffy and soft... YUP!!!! definitely staying here again... Heck the kids are already asking to go back to Mount Rushmore just so we can stay here again!!!

Room Tip: number 25 has private parking, very spacious and 3 beds!!!!! 2 queen and 1 twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoadtripQueen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice place. It's simple, reasonably priced, clean and the owners are very nice people. It's kind of a retro motor court style, nothing fancy. Very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. I also appreciate that they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jotoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

You have to stay here. We ended up here on accident and I'm so glad we did. We ended up staying for 5 days. Very clean, beds are so comfortable, cute 50's style but very up to date. Great water pressure, microwave, mini frig. Close to Custer state park and crazy horse. Owners are so kind and very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CosmosJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We so loved this motel, one of our favorites from our 19 day road trip! The owners are great, beds are comfortable, atmosphere is so fun, bathrooms are large and I don't think we found a better deal anywhere!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pelhamqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

They had extra pillows and an extra blanket in the room, which I appreciate. There was a fridge and microwave, which is unusual for such a low price. The Queen bed room was newly remodeled and very nice. The owners were great. They offer discounts at a couple local dining places. All in all, not bad for less than $60! I agree with bikegem that there was a weird smell to the room but it was not too bad and we got used to it.

Room Tip: The queen bed rooms are remodeled and more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mountainess78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Super clean, very affordable, very impressed with this place. For the traveler who is on a budget, this place is a great find without compromising the joys of more expensive places. Privately owned, with personal attention you won't see at one of the chain hotels. Location is right in the middle of Custer, making all the downtown restaurants and shops easily accessed by walking. I will stay at The Rocket every time I come back to Custer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kickbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I would have given this motel 789 stars except for one thing…..The good things are that it is run by a gentle and kind man, and the rooms are cleaner than any room I have ever seen (including my own home!). It is a step back in the past and the owner is so helpful.

My only concern, and I say this with hesitation because I liked the property so much, is that the laundry detergent they use on their bedding has a strong smell that I found offensive. It kind of smelled like the fabric softener sheets people use and it was up my nose all night. I do have a sensitive sniffer so I thought it might just be me, but it bothered my husband's old nose, too. With all the allergies folks have now, I would suggest the owner just get a new detergent.

Room Tip: They are all good. Custer is a small, quaint town and you will really have a great time there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bikegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocketmotel, Owner at Rocket Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We are so sorry that the laundry detergent was to strong for you. We are changing are soaps so they are not so offensive. Thank you for choosing the Rocket Motel. We hope you will try us again.
God Bless, Don and Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
12.3 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Address: 211 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#1 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: £51 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocket Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family owned motel. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Coffee and tea in office, Refrigerators, Microwaves, hairdryers,and Serta double Pillow top beds. Kitchenette, Kings, 2 bedroom family units, 1 king suite available. Covered Pavilion, gas grill and fire pit for our guests use. Available for meetings, family reunions or just picnics. We have added a 4-man jacuzzi this year. One story, at-door parking. 8 Restaurants giving our guests 10% off all their meals while at the Rocket. Shops and downtown just a skip away. Michelson Trail across the street. Please remember that you're staying at a 1950's Motel, the rooms and showers are a tad smaller, but the charm is enormous!! We look forward to serving all vacation needs. Thank you, God Bless, Don and Brenda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rocket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing