We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Stay”
Review of Rocket Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocket Motel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We recently enjoyed a wonderful 5 night stay at the Rocket Motel. There are 5 in our family and it's always a pain to find a reasonably priced place that can/will comfortably accommodate our needs. The Rocket Motel did both. We stayed in a 2 room family suite that had a queen bed in one room, a twin and queen in the other, and a small, but adequate bathroom separating the rooms. As should be expected with any motor inn, the rooms are a bit small but we were so busy enjoying the Black Hills each day, room size was never an issue. Both rooms and bathroom were spotless and the owners were adding a nice covered patio area on the side of the inn. Hated we weren't there long enough to enjoy it. The Rocket Motel would be our first choice for a place to stay if ever in the area again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stopped in on a motorcycling holiday in July 2014

We found Rocket was recommended online, and wanting to stay in a retro motel, this was a perfect fit

Our Host (Brenda) made us feel very welcome, and the motel is located very handily to everything - 2 blocks to restaurants, gift shops, super market, bars etc

A truly immaculate Retro Motel, our compact room was impeccably clean and comfortable, great bathroom, flat screen TV etc

Room Tip: There's a great motorcycling designated parking area at the top right of the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The couple who run the Rocket Motel and friendly and helpful. We stayed on the 4th of July and were glad we booked our reservation the month before as the hotel and all of Custer was sold out. This has great access to the activities in Custer, easy access to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial. The hotel is very clean, good air conditioning and an awesome price. Thanks for the great service! p.s. there is also free wifi

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here, along with friends, found our rooms to be retro, very clean, and nice. Friendly owners/ managers willing to visit, and were interested in us. I would highly recommend for someone needing a decent, clean, friendly place to stay, away from the more expensive chains. Walking distance to downtown restaraunts, plus you get a discount!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Nice stay. Enjoyed the real keys. We opened the windows to cool the room. Parking by our room. Windows open, road noise since one was right behind our room. Have discounts with local restaurants. Nice value and helpful owners. My first motel...

Stayed: July 2014
Thank NicMarNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the Rocket Motel while visiting the Black Hills. We chose it because of the price and the reviews on TripAdvisor. It was just as described -- clean and comfortable. The room was small and no-frills, but that was fine since we just needed a place to sleep. The location is good; an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank KLT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Right on the main drag of Custer, SD. Quiet, clean, comfortable room. Reserved free parking and could walk to everything nearby. Liked how the guests sat outside on the sidewalk on July 4th and chatted with us as we all watched fireworks.... We usually stay in Marriott hotels, but Custer was a great little town to stay in and we're glad we chose the Rocket Motel. Owners were polite and gave GREAT restaurant recommendations. Took a risk on an independent motel and left VERY PLEASED.

Room Tip: Less than 30 minutes from Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorials. Within walking distance of Custe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktruden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
12.3 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
12.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Address: 211 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#1 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: £49 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocket Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family owned motel. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Coffee and tea in office, Refrigerators, Microwaves, hairdryers,and Serta double Pillow top beds. Kitchenette, Kings, 2 bedroom family units, 1 king suite available. Covered Pavilion, gas grill and fire pit for our guests use. Available for meetings, family reunions or just picnics. We have added a 4-man jacuzzi this year. One story, at-door parking. 8 Restaurants giving our guests 10% off all their meals while at the Rocket. Shops and downtown just a skip away. Michelson Trail across the street. Please remember that you're staying at a 1950's Motel, the rooms and showers are a tad smaller, but the charm is enormous!! We look forward to serving all vacation needs. Thank you, God Bless, Don and Brenda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Rocket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing