We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED it here!!!”
Review of The Roost Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roost Resort
Ranked #12 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Candia, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We LOVED it here!!!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were so happy that the first place we looked at was closed. Roost Resort was the best place we stayed on our 2 week trip out west. The cabins are adorable, comfy and clean. You can sit out front and watch turkeys and deer while you cook a steak on the grill. The owners, Susan and Frank and their two sweet labs, Maggie and Molly made us feel right at home! The cabins are filled with eveything you need to cook. They also have camping sites for RV's or tents and a little Kamping Kabin. It's right outside of the park and not in the middle of town like some of the other cabin type lodging. I hope someday I get to stay here again! I would also recommend the Cattlemans Steak House in town if you want a great Buffalo Sirloin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

What an awesome place! Perfect location - just outside of town and right off the highway, but incredibly quiet. We vacation in the Black Hills several times a year, and can't wait to stay here again. The cabins are just the right size, and had everything we needed. The prices are very reasonable and we love the central location to all of our favorite spots.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This resort is just off a busy road leading to Custer state park. It is in the center of every place we wanted to be. The cabin is small but comfortable for two people. The beds are soft and comfortable. It was very quiet and peaceful. There were a few other guest but you could not hear them. There is a refridgerator, 2 burner gas stove, microwave, & coffee pot. There are dishes to use and a sink. Full bathroom. Outside is a grill, wooden chairs and picnic tables. There is also a fire pit. Every morning and every night there is wildlife that visits the yard. The owners are very nice and attempt to answer your questions and give you information. The cost was only $69/night. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to stay in the Custer area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyandDeodis82513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We loved the Roost. The cabins were clean and cozy. The beds were comfortable, with nice linens. The location inCuster is great as a base to make day trips into the Black Hills area. We enjoyed how the resort is set back off the road and the visits from a small deer herd in the common area. Frank and Susan are great hosts and the cabins are well priced.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cltutell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The is the perfect place to stay in the Black Hills. Custer is beautiful and so much to do. Frank and Susan have a great place. We have stayed in many of the cabins and just love this place. We have had many friends stay and they all love it. I highly recommend this place to anyone. Good price, location and great owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swift current
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 nights and had a fantastic time, frank and Susan who run the place are awesome people they were more than happy to answer any questions we had about the area!
The cabin it self was great the perfect size for me my husband and our two children, it had everything we needed. The boys loved climbing on the rocks just behind the cabin and playing on the swings.
If we ever return to South Dakota for a holiday we would stay here again, it's the perfect location it was central to pretty much everything we did. We would highly recommend a stay here!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 4lovetotravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in cabin #5 for two nights while visiting the Black Hills. The cabin is reasonably spacious for two, and was very well equipped with fridge, microwave, stoves, and a shower (plenty of hot water and good water pressure). The location is pretty much ideal: it is only 5' away from 'downtown' Custer, 20' away from Mt Rushmore, ~10' away from Crazy Horse Memorial, and 20' or so from Needles Highway/Wildlife Loop/Wind Cave NP. In other words, you're in the middle of everything.
The owners are lovely, and do take very good care of their property. Everything was spotless - they're also very knowledgeable. The first night we were there, they told us about the blasts at the Crazy Horse memorial. We would have completely missed otherwise!
Every evening, we were welcome by a few deer, happily hanging out outside our cabin... other customers were very respectful, and the overall noise was very low.
Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
6.1 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
2.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
2.0 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 17 in Custer
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roost Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roost Resort

Property: The Roost Resort
Address: 12462 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8357
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing