We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most amazing vacation rental we have ever had!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Home
Kitchen-stocked Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Home
Kitchen-stocked
Dining area
Master Bedroom-queen
Double room
living room
two twins room
Gazebo/abandoned cabin
old mining buildings
John and Kay-your hosts
The dam near the propety
Entrance to the property
This was the caretaker's home in gold camp days
The original barn
The assay office from gold camp days
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Custer, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucy W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most amazing vacation rental we have ever had!”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Bauman's were so nice. Home is adult/kid/pet friendly. Everything you need is there. We cooked all our meals with either the grill, oven or crock pot provided. Were able to wash and dry clothes. Dogs were able to go outside and run without worrying about bothering anyone. The location is top shelf. We would sit outside at nighttime and stare at both the big and little dipper. There is television and internet available, but at this location you won't want to sit in front of a computer or tv! The closeness to Crazy Horse, Mt. Rushmore, Badlands, Sturgis and Devil's Tower was perfect. We rode our motorcycles to all these locations. We were able to ride bicycles in the morning on local roads and hiking the property was fun, since the dogs were able to run and get rid of excess energy from a long ride from Pennsylvania. I would recommend this location to anyone who enjoys nature and likes privacy. This vacation was rated the best by our daughters' (32 and 36) that we ever had! They want to go back as do we!!!!! The worse part was having to pack up and go home. No one wanted to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: We had to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debrajlos...
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great family vacation rental”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this rental for a week and we absolutely loved it. The kids were so excited about exploring the property with the historic buildings and playing some frisbee golf. The beds were bery comfortable. The kitchen had everything you needed plus some. The washing machine was a blessing. It was fun seeing the cows, birds and deer on the property. I also enjoyed reading a little of the history of the house. If you like peace, quiet and rustic this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location convenient to area attractions. Very quiet
Liked least: The cow pies, but that comes with cows
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyfishin...
LITTLETON
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are open to something a "little rustic" (but with everything you need) and like a taste of history, this little treasure might be right up your alley. We stayed 3 nights and were quite comfortable in this 3-bedroom, 1 bath unit. There are signs all over the house and out buildings describing the history of the place. It was occupied from 1933 through 2007 by the same family, the last one departed for a "higher residence" in 2007 after living there from the time she and her husband bought it in 1933. She appears to have been an amazing woman and her touch is everywhere. Bluebirds were the dominant creature, but there were swallows and deer as well as a little house wren that woke us daily with her song. It is quiet and peaceful and the stars are brilliant if there is no competition from the moon. Located in a little valley at about 8 miles in from Custer via a well-maintained gravel road, it is also a quick hop to the Crazy Horse memorial (visible from the gravel road intersection with Hwy 385) and about 30 minutes from Mount Rushmore. If you go to the evening lighting ceremony at Rushmore, you'll find the drive home peaceful as all the traffic goes the other way toward Keystone and Rapid City. :-) But don't have your care detailed before you go. You might want to plan that for after you return. The dust from the gravel road will cover your car if the weather is dry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful, quiet location
Liked least: Dust from the road and the flies (which are inevitable where ranching is done).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nschwenke...
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tons of wildlife and with no city type rush hour”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Loved the place. Our family wanted a place off the grid to get away from the city life, this placed offered just that. Still within easy driving distance to all major areas and attractions within a 20 minute drive from everything. Place is fully furnished with everything you would need and tons of wildlife everywhere. Leave the electronics at home and get rid of the daily stress! Will definitely be back as the wife and kid loves it! Nathan from big city Lincoln

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Missouri
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Abbie K
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house, great location.”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house was truly a home, thanks to its kind and thoughtful owner. Also, great access to the Black Hills (right out our front door), Custer State Park, Crazy Horse Monument, Mt. Rushmore and many other historic sites and natural wonders.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn1984
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It was like staying with my Grandmother, peaceful, homey and close to everything.”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

House was exactly as shown, grounds were beautiful and the dirt road is nothing to worry about. Traveling from Mt. Rushmore to Crazy Horse and Custer is a breeze. There were five of us and we had no issues with space. The surrounding land was peaceful, beautiful and interesting. Would stay there again in a heartbeat,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery around the home and the quiet at the end of the day.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing